“Cheesy” Smoky Black Bean Soup (Oil-Free, Gluten-Free)

Pin it

Cheesy Bean Soup

Here is the 2nd course of my full-day-menu of recipes that I’m sharing from fellow bloggers this week. In case you missed it, click on the link for the amazing first course, Cookies ‘N’ Cream Pancakes! This lunch recipe, which is also perfect for dinner, is from Somer at Vedgedout. She has a wonderful vegan site full of mouth-watering recipes. I drool quite often when visiting her blog. The very second I saw this recipe, no lie, I ran to my kitchen to start prepping. I was short just 2 ingredients, which I easily adapted. I was too eager to make it, so I wasn’t going to the store first.

This soup lived up to every expectation I had once I saw it and envisioned how it would taste. I knew I would love it, because it had a lot of similar flavorings as my Mexican Chili. This soup definitely is different though, with the “cheesy” aspect. Pure deliciousness. I only made a couple of substitutions. I didn’t have tomatoes, so I used a few tablespoons of tomato paste and I didn’t have Anaheim peppers, so I just chopped up a few sliced jalapeños from a jar. It’s a large pot, so I also added about a teaspoon or so of sea salt.  I finished it off with some fresh cilantro (as Somer suggested) and lime juice, it just really made all the incredible flavors pop

Cheesy Smoky Black Bean Soup (Click here for the original recipe)

Ingredients:

1 large onion, finely chopped

4 large garlic cloves, minced

2 carrots, diced

4 anaheim peppers, diced ( I didn’t have any, so I just chopped 3-4 jalapeño slices from a jar)

1 red bell pepper, diced

2 Roma tomatoes, diced (I didn’t have any, so I used about 3-4 tablespoons tomato paste)

3 cans low sodium black beans, drained and rinsed

5 cups vegetable broth

2 tablespoons ground cumin

1 teaspoon oregano

1 tablespoon chili powder

2 teaspoons smoked paprika

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper (I omitted)

2 tablespoons tahini

1 cup nutritional yeast

sea salt to taste (I used about 1 1/2 teaspoons because my broth contains no sodium and it’s a large pot)

Garnish: I added cilantro and fresh lime juice which tasted AMAZING!

Directions:

Place anaheims, red bell peppers and onions on a large foil lined baking sheet and broil for 5-10 minutes until a little bit charred. Add peppers and onions to a large saucepan and saute in broth or water with garlic, carrots, tomatoes and spices until onions are tender. Add vegetable stock and black beans. Simmer another 20 minutes. Add nutritional yeast and tahini. Pulse a few times with an immersion blender to make a smooth/chunky consistency. Garnish with diced tomato, chopped cilantro and fresh lime juice, if desired.

Cheesy Bean Soup

This has become my favorite new soup!

Be sure to check out my 30 Minute Mexican Chili!

Mexican Chili

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Breakfast, Chocolate, Gluten Free, Sweet Treats, VEGAN, VEGETARIAN

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

25 Comments on ““Cheesy” Smoky Black Bean Soup (Oil-Free, Gluten-Free)”

  1. January 16, 2013 at 7:34 PM #

    Mmmmm…. love black bean soup, I bought some nutritional yeast this weekend, will make this. I have fresh jalapeno’s but no tahini, what would you suggest I sub for that or is it ok to leave it out? Would be great with some tortilla chips.

    • January 16, 2013 at 8:02 PM #

      Everything about this is fabulous, taste, depth of flavor, texture and even tastes cheesy which is why I love using nutritional yeast. Actually, I’ve made 2 pots and the 2nd pot I forgot to use the tahini and didn’t notice a difference really, so I’d say it’s okay to leave out probably. There is so much flavor going on already. Best soup ever! Somer is awesome!

      • January 16, 2013 at 10:18 PM #

        For the tahini, one could swap in pretty much any lightly flavored raw/unsalted nut or seed butter 🙂

    • January 17, 2013 at 4:47 AM #

      Good idea Sarah!

      • January 17, 2013 at 3:36 PM #

        Great idea I made some almond butter which is pretty neutral I think it would go well in this, thanks Sarah.

  2. January 16, 2013 at 8:05 PM #

    That looks so good. I’m on a soup kick so this would be a perfect next one to try!

  3. January 16, 2013 at 9:10 PM #

    Love this Brandi it looks super delicious 🙂

  4. January 16, 2013 at 9:11 PM #

    This so nutritious but delish 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  5. January 16, 2013 at 11:56 PM #

    This is a great chili, Brandi. I, too, will substitute a little tomato paste when fresh ones are unavailable. I doubt anyone can taste the difference. Love your combo of spices and peppers and I bet this is one flavorful bowl of chili! Thanks for sharing.

    • January 17, 2013 at 4:50 AM #

      Thanks John! I love tomato paste too, it gives so much flavor. I’ve found less salt is needed too when using it. I’m so thankful to Somer for sharing the recipe!

  6. January 17, 2013 at 8:41 AM #

    A grand & well-flavoured idea! Yummy too!

  7. petit4chocolatier
    January 17, 2013 at 11:12 AM #

    Loving the pancakes, and then a glorious soup for later!! Fantastic Brandi!! You are remarkable. I bet these flavors pop with a nice little kick!

  8. January 17, 2013 at 8:52 PM #

    looks healthy and delicious 🙂 Here it seems a chore to find black beans… not too sure why ? this one I will have to make… mmmm tahini ? interesting I have all of the ingredients except for the black beans… as always great post 🙂

    • January 19, 2013 at 1:26 AM #

      It was so good Thom! That’s a bummer about the beans…they are EVERYWHERE here!! If you can’t find them, just try red beans or your favorite bean. I would think a lot of beans would work here because the overall flavors/spices are so wonderful. 🙂

  9. January 18, 2013 at 12:10 PM #

    I gave the recipe to my husband to do it hahahaha. Today will be a good day, it’s snowing and get very cold here in London.

  10. January 21, 2013 at 9:00 AM #

    Haha! I remember reading your comments on Somer’s post!
    This does look amazing. I will definitely have to make it once the weather cools down.
    I agree with Thom, it is harder to get black beans here. But I did find them in my local health food store, dried.

  11. January 22, 2013 at 12:09 AM #

    I also made Somer’s soup during her Green Smoothie Challenge and it was delish! Must check out the pancake recipe…

  12. January 31, 2013 at 6:31 PM #

    Thanks for sharing this! It’s definitely one of my all time favorites as well!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pasta With Half The Carbs (Gluten-Free, Oil-Free Option) | The Healthy Flavor - January 19, 2013

    […] it, be sure to check out breakfast which was Cookies ‘N’ Cream Pancakes and lunch, Cheesy Smoky Black Bean Soup! The dinner recipe I chose is from Suzanne over at […]

I'd love your feedback!