Basil Cream Sauce & Roasted Veggies (Vegan, Oil-Free, Gluten-Free)

Welcome to heaven. My heaven. This sauce has made its way onto everything lately. It’s so good, it’d probably be good on pancakes. Ok, maybe that’s pushing it…but it is pretty freaking delicious. This sauce is creamy, thick and oozing with amazing fresh basil flavor. I thought I would make this sauce more interesting by adding it onto some roasted veggies, instead of just what is expected, pasta.

Don’t get me wrong, it is insanely good on pasta, but is amazing on these veggies!

IMG_3917

I may have gone a little overboard on drenching my veggies with it!

Basil Cream Sauce Β makes a heaping cup

Gluten-free, oil-free

  • 1 cup raw whole cashews (120g)
  • 3/4 cup low sodium vegetable broth
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
  • 3/4 cup packed fresh basil

Garnish: Fresh chopped basil and cashews

Directions:

Preheat an oven to 300 degrees and spread the cashews out evenly. Bake for 10-12 minutes until golden and fragrant. Add them to your high powered blender. You can try a food processor if you don’t have a high powered blender, you may just need to run it a few minutes to get it really smooth. Add the broth with the cashews to your blender and process until smooth. Add the remaining ingredients and purΓ©e until very smooth and creamy. Taste and add any additional seasoning, if desired. Pour over pasta or veggies, as noted below. It’s amazing on roasted veggies.

Roasted VeggiesΒ 

5 long carrots, washed and peeled

1 extra large zucchini, or two small ones

Cut the carrots in half and then cut those in quarters, about a 1/2 inch thick (like in the photo). Cut the zucchini in similar sizes. Roast them on a sheet pan lined with parchment paper at 400 degrees for 15 minutes. Thn turn the oven to broil for just a couple of minutes until browned on top.

Gorgeous, green and fresh.

Creamy sauce with no butter, milk or oil!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: VEGAN

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

40 Comments on “Basil Cream Sauce & Roasted Veggies (Vegan, Oil-Free, Gluten-Free)”

  1. July 23, 2013 at 6:34 PM #

    Looks and sounds very good and healthy !

  2. July 23, 2013 at 7:09 PM #

    Yummm Brandi this sounds restaurant-worthy! Now I just need my roommate’s basil plant to go on overdrive so I can harvest 3/4 cups worth… πŸ™‚ I definitely want to try this gorgeous, healthy sauce!

  3. July 23, 2013 at 7:29 PM #

    Sounds tasty!

  4. July 23, 2013 at 7:39 PM #

    Ha! Excellent first sentence Brandi. Sometimes food can be perfectly divine can’t it! I’m excited to try your recipe as I’ve only recently purchased a food processor – I have no idea how I’ve coped without one for all these years. I’ll pin your recipe for the future (not quite Basil season here yet). We usually overdose on pesto in the warmer weather – this sounds equally delicious, yet soooo much healthier.

    • July 27, 2013 at 5:39 AM #

      Thank you so much Saskia! Oh my, I use my food processor daily! I’d die without it, lol!

  5. July 23, 2013 at 7:42 PM #

    LOL! I do the same with one or two sauces I really like – put it on everything (sometimes too much) This looks really tasty and fresh – will give it a try.

  6. July 23, 2013 at 11:09 PM #

    Oh wow, I could demolish that whole bowl of creamy basil veggies!!! The sauce looks absolutely divine… so good to be able to eat something creamy and delicious that’s actually good for you! I’m making pasta tonight so if I can get enough basil I’m going to give this a go. My little plant outside has probably only grown the equivalent of 1/8 of a cup so far (!) so I don’t want to kill it, haha! xx

    • July 27, 2013 at 5:41 AM #

      Thank you so much Laura! It is soooo good and fresh!! I hope you get a chance to make it!

  7. July 24, 2013 at 4:46 AM #

    My kind of meal πŸ™‚ It looks delicious!

  8. July 24, 2013 at 1:46 PM #

    I could eat this by the bowl full, it looks great, I would love it on roasted potatoes. Basil is my favorite herb, this is amazing!

  9. July 24, 2013 at 3:57 PM #

    I have fallen SO in love with nut based cream sauces!! My mom made one with walnuts the other day and used herbs from the garden and it was heavenly!! The fattiness is just SO rich and delicious!! This looks AMAZING!

    • July 27, 2013 at 5:42 AM #

      I agree! I can’t live without my nuts….oh that’s sounds bad, lol!!

  10. July 24, 2013 at 4:44 PM #

    Basil seriously makes the world go round. I friggin’ love it! I make this AWESOME Artichoke dish with a basil dressing (olive oil, mustard, basil & onion) – it’s KILLER! This one looks like it could kill to!!! πŸ˜€

  11. July 25, 2013 at 10:25 AM #

    I really want to try this! Sounds amazing!

  12. July 25, 2013 at 5:32 PM #

    I was wondering where you were:) guess you are busy whipping up delicious sauces like this, it sounds so yummy and healthy. Hope you are having a good summer!

    • July 27, 2013 at 5:44 AM #

      Aww you’re so sweet! I have been working like a maniac on recipes to get on my new site/blog and I feel like it’ll never get finished! So, that’s the reason for less posts lately, because I want them all on my new blog πŸ™‚

      • July 27, 2013 at 5:48 AM #

        That’s awesome:) good luck with the new website. Hope you get to enjoy some good weather as well:)

  13. July 26, 2013 at 4:35 AM #

    Mmmmmm, Brandi, I love anything packed with basil! This totally would taste amazing on pancakes, or waffles, or pasta, or meat…or anything!

  14. July 28, 2013 at 8:24 PM #

    Is basil the best, or what?! I can totally see imagine this sauce slathered onto savory pancakes!

  15. July 29, 2013 at 12:45 PM #

    Looks incredible Brandi!!!
    Thank you.
    Shane

  16. August 6, 2013 at 6:57 AM #

    I made your tasty sauce & ate it on buckwheat pasta! It was just divine, Brandi! it was superb even! xxx

    • August 15, 2013 at 8:02 PM #

      Thank you so much Sophie! Sorry, I just saw ths message. So glad you enjoyed it! πŸ™‚

      • August 16, 2013 at 6:17 AM #

        πŸ˜‰ x

  17. August 15, 2013 at 10:48 PM #

    I make a mean cashew sauce, but I’ve never added basil to it. I love the smell and taste of basil and it’s so good for you! This is going to go on my must-try list! Celeste πŸ™‚

    • August 15, 2013 at 11:59 PM #

      Thank you Celeste! I love basil too…the strong freshness of it is amazing!

  18. August 20, 2013 at 9:14 PM #

    I can fully understand why you would start putting that on everything. Dreamy!

  19. August 23, 2013 at 2:08 PM #

    Healthy, creamy and fresh. It’s perfect for this hot summer nights! Thank you for sharing πŸ™‚

  20. September 30, 2013 at 4:42 AM #

    Creamy is the best, delicious my friend πŸ˜€

    Cheers
    CCU

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Carrots in Creamy Dill Sauce - Can't Stay Out Of The Kitchen - August 4, 2013

    […] Basil Cream Sauce & Roasted Veggies (Vegan, Oil-Free, Gluten-Free) […]

I'd love your feedback!

