Pasta With Half The Carbs (Gluten-Free, Oil-Free Option)

Here is the 3rd course, dinner, in my full-day-menu series of fellow blogger recipes that I’m sharing this week. In case you missed it, be sure to check out breakfast which was Cookies ‘N’ Cream Pancakes and lunch, Cheesy Smoky Black Bean Soup! The dinner recipe I chose is from Suzanne over at APugInTheKitchen.

Low Carb Pasta

She is an amazing cook, recipe creator and has even had her work published. When I saw this dish, I knew I had to make it. It is extremely easy, fast and has very few ingredients….all which I loved. She thought of the genius idea of using half of her pasta as zucchini instead. That way, you are filling up on less pasta and more veggies. Being that zucchini is my favorite vegetable, I couldn’t pass it up. The only changes I made was using gluten-free quinoa pasta and I used nutritional yeast instead of Parmesan cheese, since I am vegan. I also omitted the oil because the hubby no longer can have it. You can definitely use any pasta that you desire and follow her exact recipe here.

Low Carb Pasta

I also threw in some sundried tomatos for their incredible sweetness and chew. I had some extras that I needed to use up.

Low Carb Pasta

Recipe: Serves 4  Prep time: 10 mins  Cook time: 20 mins

Original recipe here

Ingredients:

10 cherry tomatoes halved

2-3 large garlic cloves

1 cup flat leaf parsley, chopped

1 medium or 2 small zucchini, julienned or grated

1/4 lb pasta of your choosing (I used gluten-free quinoa pasta)

2 tablespoons olive oil, plus more to drizzle on tomatoes

salt and pepper to taste

1/4 cup nutritional yeast or cheese, per the original recipe

optional: I added some sundried tomatoes

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Place cherry tomatoes and garlic cloves on a lined baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil (if using) and season with salt and pepper. Bake for 15-20 minutes until tender and carmelized. Meanwhile, cook the pasta according to the package directions. Note: If you are using quinoa pasta, it seems to take longer to cook than traditional pasta. It also has a tendency to stick more, so make sure to add a bit of oil to the pasta water and salt the water well. This will season the pasta and help prevent it to stick. Remove the cooked veggies from the oven.

Grate or julienne the zucchini. I chose to slightly water sautee the zucchini over the stove because I like the sweetness after it cooks. In a large bowl, add the zucchini and tomatoes with their juice. Mash the roasted garlic and add it to the bowl. Add the chopped parsley and sundried tomatoes. Add the hot pasta over everything in the bowl, sprinkle well with nutritional yeast or cheese. I used a good amount of nutritional yeast. Toss well and serve. Add any pasta water or oil to moisten, if necessary.

Low Carb Pasta

Enjoy!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Gluten Free, VEGAN, VEGETARIAN

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

33 Comments on “Pasta With Half The Carbs (Gluten-Free, Oil-Free Option)”

  1. Tiffany Cockrell
    January 19, 2013 at 10:30 PM #

    Mm this looks absoloutly scrumptious!! I will make this tw!!

  2. January 19, 2013 at 10:52 PM #

    Thank you so much I am honored to see my recipe on your beautiful blog and that you chose to make it and even more thrilled that you enjoyed!

    • January 19, 2013 at 10:57 PM #

      No, thank you Suzanne for sharing it! It really couldn’t be simpler to make, so I was thrilled to make it! Zucchini is my favorite vegge, so I knew I’d enjoy it! Thank you!

      • January 20, 2013 at 1:02 AM #

        I enjoyed the zucchini with the pasta so much, I think they go together beautifully, I just bought some quinoa pasta at the food coop I will try it with the zucchini. Thank you again, the support means so much to me.

    • January 20, 2013 at 5:38 AM #

      Your welcome Suzanne! The feeling is mutual. You have been one of the most encouraging people I have met since blogging…I feel very fortunate to come across your blog and you! My friend Tiffany (above in the comments) posted on my Facebook page today saying how much she loved the dish 🙂

    • January 20, 2013 at 5:41 AM #

      Oh and regarding the quinoa pasta…my honest opinion is it is WAY better than brown rice pasta (if you’ve ever had it), it cooks and holds up fairly well, it’s healthy, but taste and texture wise, it’s not as enjoyable to me as wheat pasta. It has a slight grainy texture. However, slathered in enough sauce, it’s totally doable 🙂
      Spaghetti squash would be really good here too. I’ll try that next.

      • January 20, 2013 at 1:39 PM #

        I have never tried it before, I am going to make it today, I am trying to reduce wheat in my diet and lower carbs and I thought quinoa would be a good choice. Thanks. I am making the black bean burgers this week, I’ll post it on the blog after I make them, no buns I am going to serve with just veggies. I forgot to get the grape nuts so have to run to the store today.

    • January 20, 2013 at 9:01 PM #

      Oh gosh, I hope you like them…I’m nervous lol! They are definitely different than a traditional burger but we devour them still, nonetheless. You won’t hurt my feelings if you don’t like them, so don’t feel like you have to post them 🙂 Were you going to make the cookies too? I KNOW you’d love those…I know pecans are pricey though. Thank you!

      • January 20, 2013 at 9:18 PM #

        I’m sure I will love them. I have total confidence in your talents and know they will be amazing. Yes I am going to make the cookies, I have pecans but still have to do some shopping for he burgers.

  3. January 20, 2013 at 5:25 AM #

    This is a great pasta dish, Brandi. It’s easy to make and bursting with flavor, 2 qualities of most good pastas. I, too, use sun-dried and cherry tomatoes in Winter pastas. I like the taste of fresh tomatoes but flavorful ones aren’t available here once November rolls around. And isn’t zucchini great in pasta? Yum!

    • January 20, 2013 at 5:43 AM #

      Thank you John! Suzanne shared get awesome recipe that I couldn’t resist. I just loved the idea of using half zucchini as the pasta! Oh, and yes, Sundried tomatoes are super chewy, tart and fabulous! Thank you for your comment! Have a wonderful week!

  4. January 20, 2013 at 5:39 AM #

    Half the carbs and bursting with more flavour than usual makes this a charm 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  5. January 20, 2013 at 3:07 PM #

    Aw.. Brandi, this is such a great recipe to share. It looks so good. Baking cherry tomatoes and garlic to add on is a brilliant touch. I can almost taste the overall combination of flavor exploding in my mouth.

    Love your new profile pix too! 🙂

    • January 20, 2013 at 8:58 PM #

      Thank you Danny! I agree! I love Suzanne’s ideas! I make a bell pepper tomato sauce where I roast the garlic, bell peppers and red onions first and it is a WORLD of difference in flavor, than just tossing them in the food processor without cooking them first. 🙂

      • January 21, 2013 at 6:40 AM #

        Thanks for the great tip. I’m sure to try it out soon 🙂

  6. January 20, 2013 at 9:38 PM #

    Brandi, this pasta looks delicious!!! and wow, so healthy! LOVE this!

  7. January 20, 2013 at 11:28 PM #

    This looks delicious- and so simple. I’ve never tried gluten-free pasta, but I’ll definitely give it a go.

    • January 23, 2013 at 6:33 PM #

      Thank you! It is slightly grainier than whole wheat pasta, but with enough good flavors on top, it isn’t that noticeable. I definitely prefer quinoa pasta over brown rice pasta! Brown rice sticks way too much!

  8. petit4chocolatier
    January 21, 2013 at 3:27 AM #

    Brandi, this looks delicious. I was just thinking of pasta, 10:30 p.m., and love the idea of quinoa pasta. I also love your addition of sun dried tomatoes. Gorgeous meal!

  9. January 21, 2013 at 8:57 AM #

    Yum! This looks scrumptious!

  10. January 21, 2013 at 2:44 PM #

    That looks awesome! I’ve been wanting to try using zucchini as pasta for the longest time! And I have a whole jar of nutritional yeast that I need to use up–you keep giving me all these great ideas for it 🙂 But I suppose it will have to wait until I’m done with my detox…only 21 days!

    • January 23, 2013 at 6:35 PM #

      Haha! Zucchini is my favorite vegetable so when Suzanne shared this recipe, I knew it’d be a winner, a healthy one at that! 21 days will be gone before you know it, lol! 🙂

  11. January 21, 2013 at 5:59 PM #

    OHHH my gosh. What a beautiful plate of starchy goodness.! I am making this ASAP!

  12. January 23, 2013 at 1:51 AM #

    Droooool…. That is all 😉

  13. January 24, 2013 at 7:31 PM #

    MMMMMMM! I made same dishes like this one omitting the nutritiounal yeast but not this time though! I must add it!! Your dish sings to me!

  14. January 31, 2013 at 5:31 PM #

    Haha, I’ve made zucchini “pasta” and clearly I’ve made regular pasta, but I’ve never thought to combine them. That makes my spaghetti bowl look a whole lot more appetizing (and lower cal) Yummy idea!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Easy recipe for gluten free penne a la vodka | Elemental Cheapness - January 25, 2013

    […] Pasta With Half The Carbs (Gluten-Free, Oil-Free Option) […]

I'd love your feedback!

