Cinnamon Vanilla Walnut Paste

Oh boy, I’m in trouble now. You see this gorgeous rich, dark brown vision of loveliness? It’s my newest addiction. I’ve been doing some reading about the amazing benefits of walnuts. They are extremely high in antioxidants, omega-3 fats and can help lower bad cholesterol levels.

So, I set out to make a walnut spread, but not just a plain walnut spread. A walnut, cinnamon, maple and vanilla infused spread. Oh yeah, I added a few pecans too for creaminess. All of these ingredients create the richest, thickest paste you want to dress your toast with. It is not like other nut butters, it is a bit thicker….yet it spreads beautifully on toast.

Recipe:  Makes 1 cup

Ingredients:

  • 2 heaping cups (240 grams) raw walnuts
  • 1/2 cup (60 grams) raw pecans
  • 4 tablespoons grade B maple syrup, room temperature
  • 4 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 3-4 vanilla beans, cut with seeds scraped out
  • 1/8 teaspoon sea salt

Note: I have adjusted these measurements to accomodate most standard size or large food processors. However, if you have a small food processor, the recipe measurements should be cut in half.

Directions:

Preheat at oven to 300 degrees and line a sheet pan with parchment paper. Spread out the walnuts and pecans and roast for 10 minutes, until fragrant. Add the nuts and syrup to a food processor and pulse until puréed, smooth and no longer crumbly, scraping the sides as necessary. This may take a few minutes depending on your processor. Slice the vanilla beans down the middle and scrape all the seeds out with a spoon. Be sure to get them all out. Add the cinnamon, salt and vanilla seeds to the food processor. Process until smooth and creamy, scraping the sides as necessary. It should reach a thick, paste-like consistency, as in the photos.

This is the last recipe I’m sharing on this blog….next post will be details on my new blog! YAY!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Breakfast, Gluten Free, VEGAN

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

34 Comments on “Cinnamon Vanilla Walnut Paste”

  1. October 8, 2013 at 9:02 PM #

    Can’t wait for your move!

  2. October 8, 2013 at 9:30 PM #

    Delicious, Brandy! I have everything to make this and am looking forward to breakfast tomorrow. Can’t wait to see your new space!

    • October 8, 2013 at 10:29 PM #

      Wonderful! Please let me know how it turns out! I have just adjusted the measurements to accomodate large/standard food processors because it makes it easier to process. The first time I wrote the recipe (awhile back) I used my mini processor. Hope you enjoy it 🙂

  3. October 8, 2013 at 10:32 PM #

    It’s so good to see you posting again, seems like it’s been a while. I love when something delicious is also so good for you and such is the case with this spread. It sounds so good and has so much nutritional value. Great recipe!

    • October 9, 2013 at 8:11 AM #

      Thanks so much Suzanne! Yeah, it’s been a couple of months. I’ve been working so hard on the new blog and have written about 15 or so new recipes for it, so that’s why no posting on here 🙂

  4. October 8, 2013 at 11:43 PM #

    Oh my gosh! Brandi, this sounds so delicious. I can imagine baking it into cinnamon walnut rolls also… then eating them whilst they’re still warm and buttery with the gorgeous Omega 3 oils. Looking forward to your blog change, yay! Best of luck with finishing the final details beautiful! xx

    • October 9, 2013 at 8:12 AM #

      Oh dang Laura!! That sounds incredible! You just gave me an idea!! You are so right too, walnuts become very oily after roasting and pureeing them, so they would be AMAZING in cinnamon rolls. Oh my!

  5. October 9, 2013 at 12:58 AM #

    All I can say is OMG!!!!! I want this right now!

  6. October 9, 2013 at 3:22 AM #

    I was going to ask, where do you use this… But your last photo EXPLAINS IT ALL! Pictures are worth 1000 words, ha!

    • October 9, 2013 at 8:13 AM #

      Hahaha! Yes, I’m addicted to toast and to nut butters…this one is my favorite on toast. So divine 🙂

  7. October 9, 2013 at 4:26 AM #

    Brandi, a new post! Yay! You’re definitely leaving this space with a bang – this walnut paste looks and sounds delicious. I love how this recipe is simple, allowing all the quality ingredients to shine through. I cannot wait to see your new blog!

  8. October 9, 2013 at 4:18 PM #

    Oooh that looks super indulgent (but healthy)–my favorite kind, obviously! Hope this isn’t sacrilege, but I’d love to make a PB and this walnut spread sandwich!!

    • October 9, 2013 at 6:43 PM #

      Thank you Erika! Ooohh that sounds wonderful! Anything with peanut butter makes me happy 🙂

  9. October 9, 2013 at 4:31 PM #

    Fabulous! All kinds of ideas of how to use this are exploding outta my head!

  10. October 9, 2013 at 6:11 PM #

    I’ve never enjoyed walnuts but this would change that instantly! 😀

    • October 9, 2013 at 6:42 PM #

      You know, I totally agree, I can’t stand the taste of walnuts by themselves. But roasting them, bringing out their natural oils and adding fresh cinnamon and vanilla beans makes this my favorite nut butter I’ve ever made! 🙂

  11. October 9, 2013 at 10:43 PM #

    Oh wow! That looks great!

  12. October 10, 2013 at 12:36 AM #

    AHH I have been consuming SO many walnuts lately, simply because that is all I have at home!! I’m not really a walnut fan, but they have been growing on me. Now that I know how good for me they are, I eat them anyway! PASS ME SOME PASTE PLEASE!

    • October 10, 2013 at 1:30 AM #

      I know…I don’t love the taste either by itself!! This way though, it is the bomb!

  13. October 10, 2013 at 5:19 AM #

    so good to see your fabulous post. the pics look gorgeous. Hows the new website coming along?

    • October 15, 2013 at 7:38 PM #

      Thank you! It’s ready to reveal! I’m so excited…I’ll be doing a post soon announcing the new blog and to signup for it 🙂

  14. October 10, 2013 at 8:30 PM #

    Oh wow! This looks divine. I have a massive sack full of walnuts so I think I’m tempted to try it. Thank you !

  15. October 11, 2013 at 10:16 PM #

    Wow, this looks fantastic!!! I can’t wait to hear about your new blog too. 😉

  16. beingomma
    October 13, 2013 at 11:31 PM #

    I have a shopping bag of walnuts just calling out to be ‘pasted’ 🙂

  17. October 15, 2013 at 7:21 PM #

    Wow! Have you tried baking with this yet?

    • October 15, 2013 at 7:40 PM #

      No, but I plan on doing it really soon in some cookies or muffins!! It is very oily, so it would be perfect to replace any oil or butter! A reader suggested in some cinnamon rolls too….yummy!

I'd love your feedback!

