Lemon Vanilla Puffs

These little cookies are like little cloud puffs in your mouth. As I’ve mentioned before, my hubby loves lemon. He asked me to make him some lemon vanilla cookies and this is what I came up with. They are little cookies that are cakey and soft. He actually hushed me as I was asking him if he approved….he said I was disturbing his bliss of eating them! In other words, he loved them. To make them healthier, I made them gluten-free as well.

Yes, gluten-free cookies can be fluffy, soft and tender. These are not flat or taste like cardboard like most gluten-free baked goods. IMG_3739

Lemon Vanilla Puffs    Makes 15 cookies (Double the recipe if making for a large gathering)


Gluten-free, oil-free, flour-free

  • 1 cup quick cooking oats (measure out 1/2 cup oat flour after grinding, 60g)
  • 1 cups blanched almond flour (112g)
  • 2 tablespoons tapioca starch
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 tablespoons coconut sugar
  • 1/4 cup pure maple syrup (60ml)
  • Zest of 1 lemon
  • 2 tablespoons + 1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice
  • 2 heaping teaspoons Madagascar bourbon vanilla

Note: This recipe is written to use blanched almond flour from the store. I tried this with just ground up whole almonds and it did NOT work….it completely changed the ratios and did not become cake-like. So, make sure to use the blanched almond flour. I also notice they rise a bit differently on a more humid day!

Directions:

Chilling the dough for 30 minutes prior to baking will make a higher, fluffier cookie. It’s not necessary for taste wise, but appearance wise, yes.

Preheat an oven to 350 degrees and line a sheet pan with parchment paper.

Process oats in a food processor for a couple of minutes until a fine flour forms. Measure out 1/2 cup only and add to a medium bowl. Make sure to measure the ingredients accurately, so the cookies turn out as in the photos. Inaccurate measurements can make a difference. That is why I include weight measurements as well.

Add the remaining dry ingredients (the next 5) and whisk well. In a separate cup, combine the wet ingredients (the last 4 ingredients). Add the wet into the dry ingredients and stir until well mixed. The scoops should be thick like below.

Using a melon scooper, drop scoops onto the prepared pan into 15 cookies, or desired size. Bake for 10-12 minutes until the edges are golden. Cool on the pan for a few minutes before transferring to cool completely on a rack.

IMG_3744

Nutrition per cookie: 82 calories/ 4g fat/ 2g protein/ 10 carbs

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Gluten Free, Sweet Treats, VEGAN, VEGETARIAN

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

38 Comments on “Lemon Vanilla Puffs”

  1. July 11, 2013 at 12:11 AM #

    Well, those sure are pretty little things! Perfect with a cup of tea.

  2. July 11, 2013 at 12:58 AM #

    oh Brandi, these look soooo good! I want a little cloud puff!!! or two!! so your husband loves lemon and you love chocolate! 🙂 I love it!

  3. July 11, 2013 at 5:48 AM #

    These look amazing ~ I want some now! 🙂

  4. July 11, 2013 at 7:42 AM #

    I want one… One batch more like it 😀
    Delicious!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  5. July 11, 2013 at 8:57 AM #

    I am a health food nut and a vegetarian now these I could eat and enjoy

  6. July 11, 2013 at 10:47 AM #

    Delightful! Making these on my next baking journey!

    • July 12, 2013 at 5:31 AM #

      Thank you Cindy…don’t forget the baking powder this time….haha! 🙂

  7. July 11, 2013 at 1:49 PM #

    Brandi, those look absolutely amazing!! So light and puffy. I’ve always been a chocolate person, but am fast coming over to the fruity/vanilla-y/lemon side! You’re killing me–I have all the ingredients to make these except the tapioca starch! 😦

    • July 12, 2013 at 5:32 AM #

      Thanks so much Erika! I love all the flavors…sometimes I want chocolate but sometimes vanilla totally hits the spot…these are so light, they don’t leave you feeling icky afterwards! 🙂

  8. July 11, 2013 at 4:51 PM #

    I love finding all these egg-free recipes! Recently we found out our son can’t eat eggs or cow’s milk, so, I’m constantly in search of baking ideas without these ingredients. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

    • July 12, 2013 at 6:20 AM #

      Well, then you arrived at the perfect place! My whole blog is vegan, so no eggs, no dairy and most recipes are gluten-free and oil-free as well! Thank you so much for stopping by 🙂

  9. Charisse
    July 11, 2013 at 6:14 PM #

    Lemon…vanilla..cookies. I LOVE all three, so am going to have to try these. I need some of the ingredients, but can’t wait to try them….and “maybe” share! 🙂 Thanks Brandy, you never fail at enticing me to try new things and explore the healthier side of flavor, which I never knew could be so yum-yum!

    • July 12, 2013 at 5:33 AM #

      You are so sweet Charisse! Thank you! Please let me know if you try them, I’d love your feedback. These are light so they won’t leave you feeling groggy or icky like typical buttery cookies 🙂

  10. July 11, 2013 at 9:05 PM #

    Girl, you make me miss almond flour SO much!

    • July 12, 2013 at 5:34 AM #

      I’m so sorry :(. I’d die without almond flour, I use it for EVERYTHING!

      • July 17, 2013 at 4:47 AM #

        Trust me, I MISS IT!! 😉

  11. July 11, 2013 at 10:37 PM #

    “… little cloud puffs in your mouth.” Sold! With that description, how could I resist? Thanks for sharing another great recipe, Brandi.

  12. July 12, 2013 at 2:40 AM #

    These loook so pillowy soft 🙂

  13. July 12, 2013 at 5:11 AM #

    These dainty little bites look so pretty, Brandi! Lemon cloud puffs? Yes, please. 🙂

  14. July 12, 2013 at 5:33 AM #

    Brandi, these cookies are looking even better than those gluten ones! Very well done! 🙂

    • July 12, 2013 at 5:38 AM #

      Thank you Danny! I agree, I honestly prefer my gluten-free desserts more than the flour ones. I swear they taste better. I’ve finally gotten down the science of what works and they are MORE moist, healthier and need NO oil! I find flour dries things out quickly in a lot of cases.

      • July 12, 2013 at 9:20 AM #

        You are amazing my friend. You have taken food creation to a whole new level.

    • July 15, 2013 at 7:34 AM #

      You are so sweet Danny and always brighten my day! 🙂

  15. July 12, 2013 at 6:26 AM #

    You had me at the first sentence Brandi! These look fantastic. Yet another of your fab recipes that I’ll forward to my gluten-intolerant niece. Love that you actually got hushed by your husband. Nothing better than watching family members quietly enjoying ones creations!

    • July 15, 2013 at 7:33 AM #

      Thank you so much Saskia and thank you for sharing with your neice, that means so much to me!

  16. July 12, 2013 at 4:20 PM #

    These are gorgeous cookies, Brandi! I love that they’re gluten free and healthy. I have all of these ingredients except for the tapioca starch. I should see if I have a viable substitute because if I do, I’m making these asap. My husband loves lemon flavoured desserts too – I can see him stuffing his face with these!

    • July 15, 2013 at 7:31 AM #

      Thank you Nancy! Not sure about subbing the tapioca…it serves to thicken the batter and acts as the egg and springiness when baked. You could try arrowroot, but I don’t think it would hold as well. Not sure though. Tapioca is a pretty amazing ingredient! Let me know if you do 🙂

  17. July 14, 2013 at 3:13 PM #

    Oh my goodness! These look really perfect! They sound great! 🙂

  18. July 15, 2013 at 12:33 PM #

    These turned out just perfect.. I love lemon and was so happy to see them gluten-free. I love that you used almond flour as well, it has a much nicer flavor I think:) xx

I'd love your feedback!

