July 4th Ice Cream Bowl Cake

Happy 4th of July! I wanted to create a holiday themed dessert that was healthy and not loaded with sugar…..yet still taste amazing. Using cashews makes the ice cream thick and creamy. It is incredibly easy and fast to whip up, the hardest part is waiting for it to set in the freezer.

While this dessert is red, white and blue themed, that totally doesn’t mean you can’t make it any day of the year. I just wanted to create something festive!

I decided to make this ice cream layer cake in a soup bowl. In case you don’t know, a soup bowl is slightly smaller than a cereal bowl and deeper, so it is perfect for this cake. A cereal bowl would make the layers too thin.

You only need 8 ingredients for the entire recipe, as several are repeated for each layer. It is not overly sweet, so feel free to taste and add more sugar, keeping in mind that it becomes less sweet after freezing.

Top Blue Layer:

  • 1/2 cup raw cashews
  • 1/2 cup almond milk or orange juice (orange juice will make it sweeter and fruitier)
  • 1/4 cup frozen blueberries
  • 3 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 tablespoon of your nut butter of choice (creamy is best, so there are no bits)
  • Pinch sea salt

Middle White Layer:

  • 1/2 cup raw cashews
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 of a very ripe banana
  • 3 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla
  • pinch sea salt

Bottom Red Layer:

  • 1/2 cup raw cashews
  • 1/2 cup almond milk or orange juice (orange juice will make it sweeter and fruitier)
  • 1/2 cup frozen cherries or strawberries (about 9, cherries will produce a more red layer)
  • 3 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 tablespoon of your nut butter of choice (creamy is best, so there are no bits)
  • pinch sea salt

Note: You do not need to soak the cashews first. I tested this recipe in my regular blender and it worked great. It just took a few minutes of running it on high until it got smooth. However, if your blender isn’t the greatest, soak the total amount (1 1/2 cups) in warm water for at least an hour first. The cashews need to get really smooth, so there are no tiny bits affecting the outcome of the cake.

Directions:

  1. You will prepare each layer in your blender one at a time. First add the “blue” layer ingredients to a blender and pulse until everything is well broken up, scrape the sides well and run it until it is all smooth and creamy. You may have to scrape the sides a few times. Taste and add any more sweetener, if desired. Spray your soup bowl well with nonstick spray. Note that a soup style bowl is smaller than most cereal bowls. Pour the liquid in the bowl and place in the freezer for 1 1/2 hours until the top is firm, it doesn’t need to be frozen all the way through.
  2. Rinse out the blender and add all of the “white” layer ingredients and blend the same way until smooth and creamy. Pour into a coffee mug and place in the fridge until the blue layer is firm in the freezer. Once it’s firm, pour the white layer over the blue layer and place back in the freezer for one more hour.
  3. Rinse out the blender and add all of the “red” layer ingredients and blend again the same way until very smooth. If you want to make this layer more red, use cherries instead of strawberries and you could also add some beet juice for more red color. Once the middle “white” layer has firmed after about an hour, pour the red liquid on top. Place back in the freezer to completely set, another 2 hours at least. I just put mine in overnight, but you can check it after a couple of hours.
  4. After the ice cream has set and you are ready to serve, remove it from the freezer and set it out on the counter for about 30 minutes. 30 minutes is how long it took for mine because it froze overnight. This cake holds up really well, so don’t worry about it melting. It needs to thaw some to loosen out of the bowl. Take a butter knife and gently slide it around the edges of the ice cream all the way around the bowl and turning it. It should come out very easily. Slice and serve with whipped cream or fruit!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Gluten Free, Sweet Treats, VEGAN, VEGETARIAN

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

36 Comments on “July 4th Ice Cream Bowl Cake”

  1. July 4, 2013 at 5:38 PM #

    How beautiful and delicious this is. I love all the flavors, it’s just gorgeous. I love molded ice cream cakes. Happy 4th of July!!

  2. July 4, 2013 at 5:51 PM #

    How how yummy looking – I could jump into a bowl of that ice cream right about now 😉
    Happy 4th of July!

  3. July 4, 2013 at 8:36 PM #

    These are such impressive desserts, Brandi. With those flavors & colors, I’m sure everyone loved them.

  4. July 4, 2013 at 8:45 PM #

    This is so beautiful, I want to lick my screen 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  5. July 5, 2013 at 1:16 AM #

    This is so awesome, I would die for a bite right now!

  6. July 5, 2013 at 2:32 AM #

    This is GORGEOUS!! I loveee the cashew addition too, I would have never thought it! Great job!!!

    • July 5, 2013 at 4:30 PM #

      Thank you so much Brittany! I must admit I was pleased…I didn’t know how it would turn out when I thought of the idea of doing a bowl ice cream cake. But it worked 🙂

  7. July 5, 2013 at 8:47 PM #

    You know I miss cashews SO much 😉 It looks wonderful!

    • July 6, 2013 at 7:52 PM #

      Oh girl I know you do :(. That is such a bummer. Thank you! It was light and creamy 🙂

  8. July 5, 2013 at 11:54 PM #

    This is WONDERFUL, Brandi! Wish I had gotten to see it before the 4th, but I will bear it in mind for other holidays.

  9. July 6, 2013 at 2:43 PM #

    Wow! This is so cool! It looks delicious and so great for the Fourth of July!

  10. July 6, 2013 at 8:09 PM #

    Yum! This looks amazing

  11. July 7, 2013 at 4:07 PM #

    i am drooling! what an amazing creation Brandi!

  12. July 7, 2013 at 8:13 PM #

    So creative, Brandi! Love it! Festive and just perfect for the holiday =) Hope you had a wonderful one, lovely, and hope all is well. Thanks so much for sharing and can’t wait to see what you cook up next =) xo!

  13. July 7, 2013 at 8:43 PM #

    very stunning to look at and reading the ingredients wow sounds like it tastes amazing too….. a great dessert for hot weather 🙂 hope your family enjoyed it too 🙂

    • July 9, 2013 at 5:05 AM #

      Thom, it was wonderful and light..just perfect! Thank you so much 🙂

  14. July 8, 2013 at 6:11 PM #

    Brandi, I’m totally in awe over this gorgeous ice cream bowl cake! I just know that if I made this, it would never come out of the bowl that beautifully. Oh well, I’d just scoop it out of the bowl with a spoon, no biggie. I’m also amazed that you can make such creamy, luscious ice cream from nuts. I need to try this – I won’t even feel guilty when I eat the whole thing myself!

    • July 9, 2013 at 5:07 AM #

      Nancy, thank you sweetheart! Yes, no guilt here :). Once it sat out for a bit to thaw some, I just slid a knife around the edges to help turn it and flipped the bowl over and voila, it came right out! This was my first time ever trying something like this so it was pure luck that it worked, lol!

  15. July 9, 2013 at 12:45 PM #

    What a masterpiece!

  16. July 9, 2013 at 9:12 PM #

    Fantastic Brandi! This looks awesome and my boys faces lit up when they saw your beautiful photo fill my computer screen. Love the colour combo – especially as I could purloin it to make a Dutch flag cake for my mum! Happy belated 4th of July.

    • July 10, 2013 at 8:24 AM #

      Thank you so much Saskia! You’re so sweet! I was pleased how it turned out 🙂

  17. July 10, 2013 at 1:38 AM #

    Brandi!
    Wow, I love this!! so festive and awesome! Love the idea of using cashews! I’ll be doing my own ice cream experimenting so now I want to incorporate layers like this! I love it!

    • July 10, 2013 at 8:27 AM #

      Alice, I was so nervous when I flipped the bowl over and was afraid it wouldn’t work, but after it sat out to thaw some, it slid right out. The cashews prevented it from melting quickly, like normal ice cream. I’m intrigued to try more ideas popping in my head now, lol! 🙂 I know whatever you do, it’ll be fabulous!

  18. July 10, 2013 at 4:13 PM #

    I love the colors and the shape of your ice cream cake:D So pretty! xx

  19. July 23, 2013 at 11:15 PM #

    This is so gorgeous. You’re such a creative Brandi! I would have been so worried that the ice cream cake wouldn’t come out of the bowl, haha. Glad that it did! Beautiful dessert xx

I'd love your feedback!

