Spicy Veggie Burger

Well…hello there. How ya doin?

This recipe is a veggie burger recipe that I posted before and have remade it to make it easier, faster, thicker, less ingredients and gluten-free. It is not only an easier recipe, but it actually turned out even better! I stuck with the same flavors, just amped them up a bit and cut out a 6 ingredients. Honestly, this burger is so yummy and has less ingredients! I also made a delicious spicy mayo-type dressing for on top of them….the burger’s best friend!

Just make the batter, shape them and throw on the pan…no need to chill them first. However, it is fine if you want to make them ahead of time and chill in the fridge and then cook them later. Of course chilling them will make them firmer, but it’s not necessary.

These do not fall apart, are an inch high and loaded with protein!

All the fixins…

Topped with this spicy “mayo” is a must. Its tang is the perfect contrast to the curry burger.

Curry Spiced Veggie Burger   Recipe makes 4 patties

Gluten-free, oil-free, soy-free

Ingredients to prepare quinoa first:

  • 1/2 cup red quinoa (white is too mushy for the burgers, so use red)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 teaspoon of each:  garlic powder, smoked paprika, sea salt

Burger ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup cooked red quinoa
  • 1 cup cooked black beans
  • 1 cup chopped green or red bell pepper, raw or cooked depending on your preference
  • 1/4 cup packed fresh spinach, chopped
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons curry powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon fine sea salt
  • 1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons oat flour (1 cup of quick cooking oats, ground into a flour in the food processor)
  • 1 tablespoon liquid mesquite smoke (if you can’t find this, sub 2 tablespoons barbeque sauce instead as it is thicker than liquid smoke)
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 tablespoon ground flaxseed

Spicy “Mayo”

  • 1 cup raw cashews
  • 1/4-1/2 cup water
  • 2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 2 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Roast cashews at 300 degrees for 13 minutes. Blend in a food processor until crumbly. Add water, adjusting as needed for desired consistency, starting out with a 1/4 cup. Blend until creamy and smooth, scraping the sides as necessary. Be patient, as it make take a few minutes. Measure out 1/2 cup cream in a cup and add the remaining ingredients and stir well. Store the extra cream in the fridge. It will thicken up overnight in the fridge.

Note: It is very important to pat dry the beans and veggies after washing them. This will ensure the burgers hold well. If they are too wet, then the burgers will be too wet.

Directions:

  1. I recommend preparing the quinoa the day before or early in the day, so it is room temperature at the time of making the burgers. Prepare the quinoa by combining all the ingredients into a small pot. Bring to a boil and then turn to simmer for 15-20 minutes or until all the water has evaporated and the quinoa is tender and translucent. Once it has completely cooled, measure out 1/2 cup, store any extra in the fridge.
  2. Meanwhile, chop the veggies, keeping in mind not to chop too small, because you want some crunch when biting into the burger. However, if you don’t like crunchy raw veggies, cook them first or finely chop them! I liked the crunch, but my husband preferred them cooked first.
  3. Drain, rinse and pat the beans very well with a paper towel. I cooked my own beans, but canned should work so long as you pat them dry well. Add them to a large bowl and take a fork and mash about half of the black beans, not all of them. You just want them partially mashed to help hold the burger but still some whole beans left for texture. Add the quinoa and veggies. Set aside.
  4. Add the oats to a food processor and run it for about 2 minutes. It should be a fine flour. Measure out only 1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons. In a medium bowl, add the oat flour, curry powder, chili powder, nutritional yeast, garlic powder, onion powder and salt). Whisk very well. Add to the bean mixture and stir to coat.
  5. In a small cup, add the water and liquid smoke and warm slightly in the microwave for 15 seconds. Whisk in the flaxseed with a fork for about 30 seconds.
  6. Pour over the bean mixture. Stir and press well with a spoon for several minutes. The oats will start to absorb the liquid and become very sticky and hold together well. If it seems too dry or too wet, adjust with a tad bit more of oat flour or water.
  7. Place a medium frying pan on the stove and turn the heat to medium-low. Let it heat up for 5 minutes. Spray some non-stick spray on the pan. Now, to prevent the batter to sticking to your hands, lightly spray your hands with the nonstick spray. Shape them into 4 patties. I chose for fat, high burgers but if you prefer larger, thinner ones, then pat them down. Cook the burgers for about 5 minutes on each side until golden brown and cooked through.

Assemble: I just cut off the edges of bread and toasted it. I topped them with roasted red peppers (store bought), fresh spinach and lots of spicy mayo! The bomb.

Oh yeah.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Gluten Free, VEGAN, VEGETARIAN

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

27 Comments on “Spicy Veggie Burger”

  1. June 28, 2013 at 11:54 AM #

    These look scrumptious! I may have to try them this weekend. Still loving your photography!
    Cheers
    Cindy

    • June 28, 2013 at 11:37 PM #

      Thank you so much Cindy! You made my day 🙂 Please let me know if you try them!

  2. June 28, 2013 at 12:25 PM #

    I remember your previous recipe and had planned on making it but time and other things got away from me and I am afraid I forgot, so glad you posted this because it reminds me that I have to make these, your changes sound like it will be quicker and easier to prepare. I too like the crunch so would leave the vegetables raw. this sound so delicious. I love veggie burgers.

    • June 28, 2013 at 11:39 PM #

      They are so much better this time around too Suzanne, so I’m glad you waited. They have the same flavor as before, I just amped up the flavors, so it was a shorter, easier recipe. Also, it holds together really well like a real hamburger. I’ve made 3 batches this week alone! My husband HATED the veggies raw though, lol, so I had to make his with cooked bell peppers the next time!

  3. June 28, 2013 at 4:51 PM #

    Yummm these look so heavenly! I love how thick and textured they look. I need to try red quinoa! I definitely need to get on the veggie-burger-making bandwagon this summer–I can’t believe we’re almost into July already! Thanks for the lovely inspiration 🙂

    • June 28, 2013 at 11:40 PM #

      Thank you so much Erika! There have been way too many mushy, flat veggie burgers out there and these are quite thick and hearty with great texture 🙂

  4. June 29, 2013 at 6:44 AM #

    I made your tasty veggie burgers & the topped spicy mayonaise & my husband Peter & I both adored them so,much! THIS IS A WINNING VEGGIE BURGER! MMMMMm! X

    • June 29, 2013 at 7:05 AM #

      Wow, already?! That was fast Sophie! Thank you my dear! You made my day 🙂

      • June 29, 2013 at 7:06 AM #

        You are welcome, Brandi! I love, love your unique recipes a lot! Xxxx Have a great weekend!

    • June 29, 2013 at 8:53 PM #

      Thank you so much Sophie, I truly appreciate that 🙂

  5. June 29, 2013 at 7:07 AM #

    It is also that I am a big fan of using quinoa, Brandi!

  6. June 29, 2013 at 1:34 PM #

    I love the color of your burger as well! It looks just packed with flavor and healthiness:) xx

  7. June 29, 2013 at 3:01 PM #

    Brandi, I love veggie burgers and your recipe is awesome! And I love it spicy too. The curry powder is a big plus for me. I can imagine all the spices and ingredients coming together to create a fabulous flavor. Should go well with my toasted fluffy loaf.

    • June 29, 2013 at 8:53 PM #

      Thank you so much Danny! Yes, your gorgeous bread would be awesome with this..yum 🙂

  8. June 29, 2013 at 9:27 PM #

    With this recipe, you are winning at life my friend 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  9. July 1, 2013 at 6:20 AM #

    beautiful pictures. you have to do a post on food photography:) the burger looks amazing and the dressing even better.

  10. July 1, 2013 at 11:41 PM #

    I love the sound of that cashew mayonnaise… mmmm! It’s great that you’ve packed quinoa, nutritional yeast, flax and so many vegetables into those burgers… what a fantastic way to get a lot of nutrition in one delicious meal. Thanks for these gorgeous posts. I always feel inspired after visiting your site! Definitely trying this recipe xx

    • July 2, 2013 at 6:50 AM #

      You are such a sweetheart Laura! Yes, a very nutritious burger and yummy too! Thank you 😉

  11. July 2, 2013 at 12:28 AM #

    Looks fantastic!!
    Thank you Brandi!
    All the best.
    Shane

  12. July 7, 2013 at 8:40 PM #

    delicious !!! love you mayo and burger ingredients.. great job Brandi 🙂

  13. July 8, 2013 at 6:13 PM #

    Whoa mama! That is one incredible looking veggie burger. Just reading the ingredient list was making me drool – I can just imagine how tasty and delicious this is. You’re brilliant, Brandi!

  14. August 8, 2013 at 12:57 AM #

    What a lovely, lovely burger! Celeste 🙂

I'd love your feedback!

