Curried Chickpeas and Farro (Oil-free)

I’ve recently discovered the Italian grain Farro and have fallen in love. It has a deeper earthy flavor and greater texture than brown rice, when cooked. Funny though, it’s less crunchy if you eat it raw compared to brown rice, but it has a greater bite to it when cooked. Yes, I tried it before I cooked it, it is quite tasty and very edible.

This new grain inspired today’s dish. I wanted something different than plain old rice. This meal couldn’t be simpler guys. I use dried garbanzo beans because they are cheaper, healthier and have no yucky preservatives. Just simply throw them into a pot of water before you go to bed to soak overnight and cook them the next day. It is a “throw everything in a pot” meal. Go do some laundry or exercise while its cooking.

Using this delicious curry paste makes for a very simple way to infuse the dish and keep the ingredient list small.

I love the clean list of delicious ingredients…absolutely no preservatives or weird chemicals! Score!

Curried Chickpeas & Farro

Recipe: Serves 4-6 

Ingredients:

*One 16 oz bag dried chickpeas

*5 cups low sodium vegetable broth

*Half of a large white onion, finely chopped

*1/4 cup red curry paste (Thai Kitchen is what I love because there are no preservatives)

*1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

*1 cup Farro

*2 1/2 teaspoons sea salt

*1 teaspoon ground black pepper

Optional garnish: fresh lemon juice, shredded kale, chopped hazelnuts or pecans

Directions:

Rinse and soak the beans according to the directions on the package. Once your beans have soaked, drain and rinse them and add to a large pot. Add the broth, onion, curry paste, salt and pepper and stir well. Bring the mixture to a boil, cover and turn the heat to simmer for 1 1/2-2 hours. Meanwhile, start cooking the farro after the beans have cooked for 1 hour. Cook according to the package directions. Check the chickpeas at 1 1/2 hours and cook longer if you want them more tender. The broth should be reduced and thickened some. Once the beans are at your desired texture, add the lemon juice (if using) and stir well. Turn the heat off. Taste and add anymore salt, if desired. To serve, plate some Farro and serve the chickpea mixture over top, as much as desired. I garnished mine with some fresh lemon juice, shredded pieces of kale and chopped hazelnuts. Chopped hazelnuts are AMAZING on this! This will make a lot to last a few days.

So, as I mentioned in a previous post, I’m sharing my new blog soon. It is taking longer than expected, so please be patient. This was a recipe I was waiting to post on the new blog, but since my blog is not done yet, I didn’t want to hold you back any longer. I mentioned it on Facebook and several wanted the recipe, so here you go!

init

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: VEGAN, VEGETARIAN

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

27 Comments on “Curried Chickpeas and Farro (Oil-free)”

  1. May 16, 2013 at 4:44 PM #

    I love Farro! – discovered it at a friends place – It has a great nutty flavour that just goes so well with so much. Great idea in this recipe – will definitely try it!

    • May 16, 2013 at 4:52 PM #

      Thank you Cindy! Yes, I LOVE it…so much better than rice in my opinion. I have another recipe using farro too that I will share soon. 🙂

  2. May 16, 2013 at 4:45 PM #

    I love farro and prefer to brown rice. What a delicious dish, I also use Thai Kitchen brand it’s the best.

  3. May 16, 2013 at 4:46 PM #

    I recently tried farro too, I LOVE the stuff!! Along with barley and bulgur I just can’t get enough!! This looks sooo tasty and I am so excited for your new blog!

  4. May 16, 2013 at 4:48 PM #

    If you live near a Trader Joe’s the quick cooking farro is a great buy! It is just par-cooked and dried is all. PS: When you get the new blog up, just repost the recipe 🙂

  5. May 16, 2013 at 5:01 PM #

    Wow, this looks so great! You’ve sold me on two new things–farro and curry paste. I’ve always been a little scared of curry paste for whatever reason, but it looks like a great ingredient to have on hand. On another note, what’s your opinion on barley? I bought a bag awhile back and just haven’t used it yet…do you have any good recipes that include barley? Do you eat it?

    • May 16, 2013 at 7:15 PM #

      Hey Erika! I thought curry paste would be insanely hot, but it’s not at all in my opinion…hence why I used a 1/4 cup. It is super flavorful and takes care of having to use 10-15 ingredients…which goes along with my new blog design…which you’ll understand in it’s reveal 🙂
      Curry paste is very versatile…..I also mix it with coconut cream as a dressing/dip. Farro you will love…it has such a wonderful flavor…brown rice is very bland and in a recipe like this with a few ingredients, I wanted to use a more stronger tasting grain. You know, I’ve actually never tried barley by itself, just in like a multigrain cereal…I bet I’d love it. I’ll need to buy some and create a recipe with it!

  6. May 16, 2013 at 7:31 PM #

    I don’t think I have tried farro but I’m intrigued now! Lovely recipe 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  7. May 16, 2013 at 8:37 PM #

    Love farro, especially if it’s part of a one-pot meal that cooks itself! This looks gorgeous and full of interesting texture, especially with the sprinkled hazelnuts on top. Looking forward to seeing your new blog Brandi.

  8. May 16, 2013 at 8:41 PM #

    Looks fantastic! I had farro once in a delicious salad at a friends house and swore I would try to make it, but forgot all about it – thanks for reminding me 🙂 This is a great way to use it!

  9. May 17, 2013 at 12:50 AM #

    I love farro so much but it’s not gluten-free so I never buy it for just me. This recipe might convince me otherwise though, yum!

    • May 20, 2013 at 5:35 AM #

      Yes, you’re right, it’s not gluten-free. Most of my meals are gluten-free, but I don’t really have issues with gluten, so having it on occasion doesn’t bother me. This is super yummy too!

  10. May 17, 2013 at 4:24 AM #

    yummy! I usually make an Indian curry with chickpeas, the Thai red curry paste would be a welcome change, thanks for an interesting recipe.

  11. May 17, 2013 at 11:11 AM #

    Brandi, I absolutely love this recipe and thanks for introducing the Italian grain Farro. I must try to find it here. Seeing your post always makes me happy and hungry too. 🙂

  12. May 19, 2013 at 11:12 PM #

    This is a lovely dish, Brandi! Spiced chickpeas are always a favorite of mine, and when added to grains they make a terrific meal.

  13. May 31, 2013 at 8:54 AM #

    I amde this tasty dish, Brandi & loved it so much! Powerful too! Yummo also!

  14. July 3, 2013 at 7:48 PM #

    I just love chickpeas. Will try this curried version. Great blog.

I'd love your feedback!

