Sunflower Cinnamon Oat Balls (Gluten-free, Oil-free, Nut-free)

Thanks to Sarah over at Gazing In, I had the pleasure of making this recipe. Seriously, her blog has got to be one of my favorites, if not my favorite. Everything on her blog is so incredibly easy, quick and delicious. So, go check her out and see what you have been missing in your life. πŸ™‚ This is perfect if your little ones are allergic to nuts as well!

When I saw these balls, late at night mind you, I eagerly awaited til morning so I could make them. I slightly adapted it to make it gluten-free. Also, instead of buying sunbutter from the store (which has added oil and sugar usually), I just made my own. It was super easy. I just threw all the ingredients in a food processor and voila, that was it, took me less than 10 minutes to do everything. I also added cinnamon to them which made them even more amazing, I love to have my daily dose of cinnamon because it is so good for you and the taste is incredible. I made them gluten-free by using oat flour instead of wheat and they held together perfectly.

Sunflower & Oat BallsΒ  adapted from Gazing In

1/4 cup sunflower seeds (mine had salt on them, so no need to add salt to the recipe)

1/4 cup maple syrup

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 cup quick cooking oats (use gluten-free oats if you’re gluten sensitive)

1/4 cup oat flour (I just grind up a bunch of oats and keep the oat flour stored in the fridge to use for recipes, just make sure to measure out a 1/4 cup)

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 cup mini chocolate chips

Directions:

Add the firstΒ 3 ingredients (sunflower seeds, syrup and vanilla) to a food processor and pulse for a couple of minutes until smooth and creamy, scraping the sides a couple of times during. Next, add the remaining ingredients and pulse until a ball forms and all the mixture comes together. (picture below)

Try to refrain from eating it all right out of the food processor.

Scoop all the batter out and form mini balls and roll them into cinnamon powder. It helps to slightly dampen your hands with water when rolling the balls. Otherwise you could chill the batter in the freezer for a few minutes, but it’s totally not necessary.Β Sarah rolled hers in powdered sugar, so you could of course do that too if you like! They hold together at room temperature, but I stored mine in the fridge just to keep them firm.

So flippin good!!!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Gluten Free, Snacks, Sweet Treats, VEGAN, VEGETARIAN

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

35 Comments on “Sunflower Cinnamon Oat Balls (Gluten-free, Oil-free, Nut-free)”

  1. April 30, 2013 at 5:46 PM #

    Yum, Brandi! I love the chocolate chip + cinnamon combo; you cannot go wrong with that =) Hope all is well, lovely, and hope you’re having a fabulous week. Thanks as always for sharing! xo!

    • April 30, 2013 at 6:29 PM #

      I agree Christina! Cinnamon makes everything better and it also makes them sweeter! Thank you sweetie! xoxo

  2. jalal michael sabbagh.http://gravatar.com/jmsabbagh86@gmail.com
    April 30, 2013 at 5:55 PM #

    Great Gluten – free recipe.My Daughter will love it.Thank you for sharing.jalal

  3. April 30, 2013 at 6:23 PM #

    Love your version! πŸ™‚

    • April 30, 2013 at 6:32 PM #

      Thank you so much for the recipe…try the cinnamon next time, yummy! I baked one up as a cookie too and it was good, but I preferred the raw version because it was sweeter. I am totally inspired to make some sunbutter bars now…

  4. April 30, 2013 at 7:09 PM #

    these sound great!

  5. April 30, 2013 at 8:21 PM #

    I don’t think I could eat just one ball my friend πŸ™‚

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  6. April 30, 2013 at 9:25 PM #

    I love your version! These look deeeelish! I’m with Uru, I couldn’t eat just one! Gimmie dat whole plate!

  7. April 30, 2013 at 10:01 PM #

    YUM! Sarah has inspired many of my recipes as well. Snack time!

  8. April 30, 2013 at 10:14 PM #

    These sound really yummy, super easy too! Gotta love that just love it when healthy food tastes delicious!

    • May 1, 2013 at 6:05 AM #

      They really are…seriously addicting! I’m making a double batch tomorrow, which is probably a bad idea because I’ll eat them all! πŸ™‚

  9. April 30, 2013 at 11:04 PM #

    These look great Brandi! I am also a big fan of cinnamon.
    I hope you are well. πŸ™‚

    • May 1, 2013 at 6:06 AM #

      Thank you Ally! Cinnamon makes everything better. Yes, I’m great…just trying to play catch up..I’ve been super busy. Hope you are doing great πŸ™‚

  10. April 30, 2013 at 11:05 PM #

    These look so yummy and easy to make! This recipe would be a great addition to 5-Ingredient Mondays (http://siftstirandsavour.com/2013/04/28/5-ingredient-mondays-sugar-free-chunky-monkey-cereal-vegan-gluten-free/), which is a blog link-up- if you’re interested πŸ™‚

    • May 1, 2013 at 6:07 AM #

      Oh thank you so much for letting me know Erin! They are incredibly easy…almost too easy!

  11. May 1, 2013 at 1:30 AM #

    I love Sarah’s site too, and yours! I think I found yours through Sarah’s, or vice versa πŸ™‚ Anyway, this recipe looks fantastic and I’m a huge fan of throwing stuff in a food processor and not having to dirty a bunch of bowls or use the oven. Can’t wait to try these!
    -Dana

    • May 1, 2013 at 6:09 AM #

      I agree Dana! I wanted to make my own sun butter, so I just decided to throw the remaining ingredients in there and it was super easy! I will probably be doing that with so many more recipes now! You will love them πŸ™‚

  12. May 1, 2013 at 2:38 AM #

    Cinnamon makes me so happy πŸ™‚ This looks great! I wonder if they would taste good cooked too?!

    • May 1, 2013 at 6:11 AM #

      I agree…cinnamon is very addicting for me! Yes, I actually cooked one of the balls as a cookie. It was tasty for sure, but I preferred them raw, because they were sweeter πŸ™‚

  13. May 1, 2013 at 5:45 AM #

    Brandi! πŸ™‚ It’s so nice to see your post again. This is such a great alternative to Sarah’s. I love the amount of cinnamon you have used. I can almost smell it from here. πŸ™‚

    • May 1, 2013 at 6:12 AM #

      Aww thanks Danny! The cinnamon is so incredible…rolling them in cinnamon powder might be a bit much for some, but honestly if you love cinnamon, these are heaven. It actually makes them sweeter πŸ™‚

  14. May 2, 2013 at 7:38 AM #

    That looks so unusual πŸ™‚ I love cinnamon too! What’s “sunbutter” though? I’ve never heard of it?

    • May 2, 2013 at 11:36 PM #

      It is a nut free butter made from sunflower seeds. I noted above in the recipe how to make it. It is healthier option than the store bought kind because the store kind has oil and sugar added usually. πŸ™‚

      • May 3, 2013 at 8:03 AM #

        Wow, that’s clever. I’d never heard of it here in South Africa…

  15. May 2, 2013 at 10:05 PM #

    Yup, pretty much love Sarah, and all her recipes. She’s amazing! As is your take on this!

  16. Tiffany Cockrell
    May 4, 2013 at 7:27 PM #

    omg! I ate it all so good!!!

    • May 7, 2013 at 6:12 AM #

      Thank you Tiffany! I saw your comments in Facebook! So glad you enjoy Sarah’s recipe. πŸ™‚

  17. May 6, 2013 at 5:06 PM #

    Mmm…thanks for another easy and delicious healthy recipe, Brandi! As soon as I get myself a food processor, I am going to scour your blog for all of these recipes so that I can make them. I love cinnamon too – if I can get away with adding it to a dish, I will.

    • May 7, 2013 at 6:11 AM #

      Oh yes Nancy, I use a food processor like the air I breath!! It makes everything so much faster and easier πŸ™‚

I'd love your feedback!

