Lemon Sherbert (Vegan)

IMG_2833

Pin it

My hubby made a request. He said I make too many chocolate desserts and he is not a big fan of chocolate….gasp!! Well, I asked him what he would like for me to make specifically for him…he did not hesistate….”lemon sherbert!” Sherbert is amazing because it has the lightness of sorbet with that icy feel and the slight creaminess from milk. It truly is so amazing for spring.

IMG_2768

Tart, sweet, tangy and addicting…..after I made it I gave him a bite and all I got was a nod, another nod and “mmmmmmm”. He then said it was fabulous. I asked “more sugar, less sugar, too tart?” He said it was perfect. I had to agree…it has a wonderful tart flavor from the lemon juice and just enough sweetness to not overpower it. I also added some apple juice for an added extra sweetness, which is perfect, because you can’t technically taste any apple juice.

Recipe:  Makes 5 cups

Ingredients:

1 cup fresh lemon juice (I got exactly a cup from 7 lemons by using my juicer)

1/4 cup unsweetened apple juice

2 cups unsweetened almond milk

1 cup coconut creamer (found in the refrigerated section with the other creamers)

1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons organic sugar

1/8 teaspoon sea salt

2 tablespoons organic cornstarch (optional, but improves the texture slightly)

3 tablespoons pure maple syrup

Note: If you prefer a less tart taste, then sub 3/4 cup lemon juice and 1/2 cup apple juice

Directions:

Combine the freshly squeezed lemon juice and apple juice in a large cup and put in the fridge. Next, add the almond milk, coconut creamer, sugar, cornstarch and salt to a small pot and turn the heat to medium. As soon as the liquid starts to simmer, whisk for a couple of minutes continuously until the cornstarch and sugar have dissolved. Make sure the cornstarch has dissolved. Turn off the heat and pour the liquid into a bowl and place in the fridge to chill for a couple of hours. Once it is completely chilled, add the liquid, lemon juice mixture and maple syrup to a blender. Pulse just for a minute until well combined. Pour into your ice cream maker and let it run for 25 minutes until a soft serve consistency is reached. Eat now or let firm up in the freezer. I let mine freeze for 2-3 hours and then ate it. I loved the consistency after about 3 hours. If you freeze it overnight, let it sit for 15 minutes or so at room temperature before eating. Enjoy!

IMG_2836

Pin it

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Fun With Fruit, Gluten Free, Sweet Treats, VEGAN, VEGETARIAN

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

34 Comments on “Lemon Sherbert (Vegan)”

  1. April 16, 2013 at 4:20 PM #

    What a wonderful wife you are!! This is going to be perfect for those hotter months!! It looks so refreshing.

    • April 16, 2013 at 4:28 PM #

      Thank you Brittany! I personally think he is nuts though….is there really such a thing as TOO much chocolate?! haha! 🙂

  2. April 16, 2013 at 5:10 PM #

    Girl… I cannot wait to try this! I may use all cashew milk so I can create a raw version! xx

    • April 16, 2013 at 11:15 PM #

      Oh let me know how it turns out with cashew milk, yum! The hubster is mildly allergic to cashews so he can only take small doses, but have been wanting to try cashew ice cream, or at least part cashew, part plant milk in ice cream. You could also probably try it without the cornstarch and no heating…although the sugar won’t fully dissolve/incorporate as well, but should still work. Let me know girl! 🙂

  3. April 16, 2013 at 5:11 PM #

    p.s. there is no such thing as too much chocolate…

  4. April 16, 2013 at 5:11 PM #

    I love lemon!! Your sherbet sounds perfect. Your hubby must have been in lemon heaven, It looks creamy and rich. Love it!

  5. April 16, 2013 at 6:05 PM #

    Brandi, this is truly lovely! As much as I love chocolate, I am also a big fan of lemon treats. This is going on my list to make soon!

    • April 16, 2013 at 11:16 PM #

      Thank you Hannah! I hope you love it as we do! We loooove lemon around here too!

  6. April 16, 2013 at 6:39 PM #

    Yummy -my mouth is watering just looking at the beautiful photos 🙂 What kind of ice cream maker do you have Brandi?

    • April 16, 2013 at 11:21 PM #

      Thank you so much Anne! This is the one my husband surprised me with one day…now I know why…because HE wanted lemon dessert! There are much cheaper versions out too….SO worth the investment…store bought ice creams are so ridiculously expensive and have nasty additives.

  7. April 16, 2013 at 9:53 PM #

    Gorgeous! I heart my Cusinart ice cream machine 🙂 And hello, lemons are 25 cents each right now!

    • April 16, 2013 at 11:22 PM #

      Me too…it’s such a worthy investment! I just bought more lemons today! Thank you!

  8. April 16, 2013 at 10:40 PM #

    Just glorious, Brandi! Yum and yum! Thanks as always for sharing your awesome-ness =) xo

  9. April 17, 2013 at 6:36 AM #

    oooh a reason to buy an ice-cream machine!

  10. April 17, 2013 at 7:20 AM #

    This sounds soooo good and refreshing!

  11. April 17, 2013 at 1:06 PM #

    Brandi, this look so good! Just nice for Singapore weather. I love the adding of apple juice and almond milk. It can only be delicious!

    • April 17, 2013 at 7:44 PM #

      Thank you so much Danny! Yes, the apple juice adds a little bit of extra flavor to it..super yummy!

  12. April 17, 2013 at 9:04 PM #

    This sherbet looks brilliant my friend, delish much?

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  13. April 18, 2013 at 12:22 AM #

    That looks delicious

  14. April 18, 2013 at 1:14 PM #

    I like a lot of your recipes !!!

  15. April 19, 2013 at 12:18 AM #

    This looks and sounds so refreshing!

  16. April 19, 2013 at 10:03 PM #

    Boohoo…it’s times like these that I really wish I had an ice cream maker. I want to make sherbert as lovely as this! Our husbands should get together and throw themselves a pity party – my hubs isn’t a fan of chocolate either. His favourite flavour is lemon so he’d loooooove this! I certainly wouldn’t turn my nose up at it either – this really looks delicious, Brandi. It’d be the perfect thing to get me into a spring-time mood, which I desperately need given the torrential rain that’s falling outside.

  17. April 22, 2013 at 5:37 PM #

    I am thinking the same way as your hubby! I prefer this tasty vegan sorbet too! YUmmm!

  18. April 23, 2013 at 4:37 AM #

    Anything with lemon is perfect for spring! And this sherbert looks great 🙂

I'd love your feedback!

