Cinnamon Hazelnut Chocolate Chip Cookies (Flour-free, Gluten-free, Oil-free)

I have a confession….I’m a gluten-free junkie. I’m having such success creating my gluten-free recipes, that I may be doing most, if not all of them, gluten-free going forward. I have found the lack of wheat is giving me slightly better digestion and a flatter tummy.

My all time favorite flavor is cinnamon. It has an amazing ability to sweeten and warm up any dish, whether savory or sweet. Cinnamon rolls are one of my favorite indulgences, simply because of their intense cinnamon flavor. My Cinnamon Roll Bliss Bars are a favorite among friends. I took that strong cinnamon flavor as inspiration for these cookies. It has a lot of cinnamon, but it works out amazing. I combined it with roasted hazelnuts that I made into a butter. The two flavors are intense and divine.

Pin it

The hazelnut butter holds them together perfectly…..no need for egg substitutes! These cookies have an amazing soft, chewiness that is addicting…similar to the chewiness from an oatmeal cookie! They also have a slight crackle effect like you see in a molasses cookie, yet there is no molasses!

Cinnamon Hazelnut Chocolate Chip Cookies

Recipe: Makes 22-24  Prep time: 30 mins total  Cook time: 35 mins total

Gluten-free, Oil-free

Print recipe

Ingredients:

1 1/4 heaping cups raw whole almonds (ground into 1 1/2 cups flour)

2 tablespoons cinnamon

2 teaspoons baking powder (use gluten-free if necessary)

1/4 teaspoon fine pink Himalayan salt

1 heaping cup raw whole hazelnuts

1/2 cup pure grade a maple syrup

1 1/2 teaspoons bourbon vanilla extract

1/4 cup vegan mini chocolate chips, plus extra for topping (I use Enjoy Life brand)

Directions:

First, prepare the almond flour. Add the almonds to a food processor and process for a good couple of minutes, until a flour forms. Scrape the sides a couple of times and stop once it is a fine flour. Don’t process too long or it will turn into a paste.

There will be very tiny pieces of almond that give such moisture and chewiness to the cookies.

Directions for hazelnut butter:

Preheat an oven to 300 degrees. Place the hazelnuts on a parchment lined sheet pan, spread out. Bake for 20-25 minutes until golden brown and fragrant. Let them cool about 10 minutes. Then place them inside a dish towel and rub the skins off with the help of the towel. Please do not stress about removing them perfectly. Honestly, mine only looked about 50% clean. It won’t matter because you will be processing it in the food processor. Add them to a food processor and pulse for a couple of minutes, scraping the sides as needed. Pulse until it becomes silky smooth and creamy. It will be smoother than almond butter.

Directions for the cookies:

Preheat an oven to 375 degrees.

In a large bowl, add the prepared almond flour and the next 3 dry ingredients and whisk well. Add the chocolate chips and stir. In a separate small bowl, add the hazelnut butter, syrup and vanilla. Stir until well mixed. Now pour the wet into the dry and stir for a couple of minutes until well incorporated and the almond flour really absorbs the liquid well. Drop by tablespoonfuls on a parchment lined sheet pan. Using a tablespoon will yield 22-24 cookies. Do not spread out the batter. Drop extra chocolate chips on top of each cookie….about 6 or 7. Bake for 9-10 minutes. If you go longer, they will be crispier and chewier. I liked mine soft at just under 10 minutes. If you are baking on parchment paper, let them cool 10 minutes and then transfer to a cooling rack. If baking on a silpat, immediately and carefully remove them with a spatula to a cooling rack after removing them from the oven. Otherwise, they will stick and become soggy. I actually preferred them baked on the parchment paper. Store in an airtight container.

Nutrition: 128.3 calories/ 8.2g fat/ 11.9 carbs/ 2.5g protein (Per cookie based on 24 cookies)

Soft, chewy, warm and nutty and intensely cinnamon. Purely divine.

Pin it

Cinnamon lovers…..you gotta try my Cinnamon Roll Bliss Bars or Cinnamon Ice Cream!

  Cinnamon Ice Cream

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Chocolate, Gluten Free, Sweet Treats, VEGAN, VEGETARIAN

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

54 Comments on “Cinnamon Hazelnut Chocolate Chip Cookies (Flour-free, Gluten-free, Oil-free)”

  1. April 3, 2013 at 7:02 PM #

    Those look gorgeous!! They don’t look at all like they’re gluten/oil-free! Another amazing recipe 🙂 Good to hear that wheat is flattening your stomach–I feel like that was something I sort of noticed but thought I was imagining during my detox!

    • April 4, 2013 at 6:03 AM #

      Thank you Erika! They don’t need the oil either with the creamy hazelnut butter…soo flippin good! I’m sure you weren’t imagining it at all 🙂

  2. April 3, 2013 at 7:05 PM #

    I LOVE Cinnamon!!!! I am going to have to try them all! Thanks for posting

    • April 4, 2013 at 6:04 AM #

      Please do Cindy and let me know!! 🙂

      • April 9, 2013 at 12:59 AM #

        Just made these – Now I am not a baker and like an idiot I left out the baking powder by accident but they still tasted amazing and with so few ingredients! Can’t believe there was no flour, no eggs, no butter just a few simple healthy ingredients! Too good. I am going to reblog this recipe if you don’t mind as it is outstanding.

    • April 9, 2013 at 1:47 AM #

      Oh wonderful!! I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed them! That is too funny that you left the baking powder out…they probably were really flat huh, but as long as they still tasted delicious. 🙂 Of course, I don’t mind! Thank you so much Cindy 🙂

  3. April 3, 2013 at 8:19 PM #

    Heavenly cookies, good to hear that you noticed a difference in your digestion after going gluten free, I have toyed with the idea, not because I am gluten intolerant but because I have heard so many people say how much better they feel when they go wheat free. Must make these cookies.

    • April 4, 2013 at 6:06 AM #

      Thank you so much Suzanne! These are so good. Yes, I don’t plan on eliminating wheat totally yet from diet. But I have significantly reduced the amount. I have found I just don’t always need it for successful baking. All my experimenting has made it work beautifully.

  4. April 3, 2013 at 8:43 PM #

    These look so good! I have some vegan block chocolate so might try with chopped chocolate instead of chips… will let you know if I do 🙂

    • April 4, 2013 at 6:19 AM #

      Thank you so much! Please do! I know some chocolate blocks melt really funny ad don’t hold up well like chips so give it a whirl and let me know!

      • April 4, 2013 at 8:31 PM #

        Ah, yes… that’s a good point. Will let you know if I manage 🙂

  5. April 3, 2013 at 9:19 PM #

    WOW! You could make a fortune selling these! They look amazing!

  6. April 3, 2013 at 9:58 PM #

    Brandi, cinnamon and hazelnuts too?! These cookies look delicious and perfect! yum!!

    • April 4, 2013 at 6:22 AM #

      Thai you Alice! I think you’d love them! They have a wonderful flavor and the hazelnut butter and cinnamon really make them sweet!

  7. April 4, 2013 at 12:23 AM #

    Genius recipe! You have a real talent for getting the gluten-free thing right with baked goods. My processor sucks with making almond flour and it kills me to spend so much on the flour at the store, so I’ve backed off from baking the last few months. This recipe makes me want to suck it up and start roasting some hazelnuts for cookies! Yum! 🙂

    • April 4, 2013 at 6:35 AM #

      You’re so sweet! Thank you for such a nice compliment….I’ve had a lot of flops before successes, haha! I do not have a fancy processor at all and I do not get it as fine of a flour as the store kind AT ALL, not to mention the store kind is blanched almonds without the skins. So you should totally try it…only take a couple of minutes…there will still be tiny pieces of almond, which makes them better and more moisture. 🙂

      • April 4, 2013 at 10:05 AM #

        Alright I’ll give it a try. Thanks for the tip!

  8. April 4, 2013 at 1:05 AM #

    Oh my gosh these sound amaazing! Great recipe!

  9. April 4, 2013 at 1:25 AM #

    These look delicious, Brandi. Well done. GF & DF foods sure have come a long way.

    • April 4, 2013 at 6:40 AM #

      Thank you John! I agree…most gluten free or vegan stuff I’ve tried or bought has sucked…even some of my older recipes I have tweaked and slightly adjusted as I learn and experiment more and find what works.I think we all do that…constantly trying to improve 🙂

  10. April 4, 2013 at 5:02 AM #

    I have to agree with everyone, Brandi, delicious looking and what a great flavor TRIPLE combination! =) Bravo, lovely! xo

  11. April 4, 2013 at 5:32 AM #

    I like the handmade hazelnut butter in them 🙂

    • April 5, 2013 at 6:13 AM #

      Thanks Sarah! I bought them last week and couldn’t figure out what to do with them…then the idea of it with cinnamon just sounded fabulous!

  12. April 4, 2013 at 2:51 PM #

    ooh sound fantastic, another great recipe 🙂

  13. April 4, 2013 at 4:55 PM #

    Mmmmm… yummy! 🙂

  14. April 5, 2013 at 5:12 AM #

    Brandi, I can’t believe these gorgeous cookies have no flour, butter or eggs! Amazing! And I totally agree with you – cinnamon is fabulous. I love adding it to almost everything I bake. There’s just something so warm and comforting about it’s spicy flavour.

    • April 5, 2013 at 6:15 AM #

      Thank you Nancy! I know! NO ONE would know it was “missing” all them either by their taste and texture…that’s the best part! 🙂 I agree…cinnamon is just addicting to me.

  15. April 5, 2013 at 7:18 AM #

    What you say about eating Gf, I can relate to that! It is true! these cookies look amazing, tasty & fabulous even! I love that grind your own hazelnut flour after roasting them: so much flavour!! Yummmmm! Fab pics too! 🙂 xxx

    • April 5, 2013 at 6:09 PM #

      Thank you so much Sophie…they are really full of flavor! Thank you for the compliment on my photos 🙂

  16. April 5, 2013 at 9:47 AM #

    I can easily be beaten by soft chewy cookies. Not mentioning all my favorite hazelnut and the rich cinnamon flavor. It is a must try. Lovely post my friend 🙂

  17. April 5, 2013 at 10:06 AM #

    Wow Brandi. These look seriously good. Beautiful flavor combination. Loving your photos too.

  18. April 5, 2013 at 6:54 PM #

    Someday I’m going to make your cookies with the almond flour girl, these look insane!

  19. April 6, 2013 at 1:09 AM #

    Looks so good 🙂

  20. April 7, 2013 at 5:53 PM #

    I just made these and they’re SO GOOOOD!!!! I added a bit of shredded unsweetened coconut because I love adding coconut to cookies but the cinnamon and hazelnut flavors are amazing here. I linked back to your page with instagram, fb, and twitter because people need to try this! 🙂

    • April 7, 2013 at 7:19 PM #

      Awesome!! I’m so glad to hear you loved them! Isn’t cinnamon and hazelnut just amazing?! I didn’t want to just add hazelnuts to the cookies like most cookie recipes…I knew turning them into a butter would intensify the flavor and take care of the butter/oil at the same time. They are so addicting! Thank you so much for sharing 🙂

  21. April 12, 2013 at 12:58 AM #

    mm these looks really great!! I’ve been wanting to try baking gluten-free but have been a little nervous that the results would be far from the usual. your cookies look so good that I’m definitely more encouraged to try out a recipe like that. I’m so happy you’re on a gluten-free kick because I need the inspiration! 🙂

    • April 12, 2013 at 5:48 AM #

      Thank you so much! Oh, I can assure you all my gluten-free desserts take just like “regular” desserts! I’ve had some awesome feedback…it’s so worth all the effort I put in the kitchen. It takes some practice, but I love to bake so I keep at it. You gotta try them! 🙂 They are not missing out in any way…no butter or eggs or flour and you’d never know 🙂

  22. April 27, 2013 at 6:38 AM #

    Hi Brandi! I LOVE these cookies!
    I’ve been thinking about eating gluten in moderation only and cutting down on it . . I’m reading It’s All Good (Gwyneth Paltrow’s cookbook) and recently read an article about what gluten does to some people and how eliminating it can help. . you already know all of this. . anyway, there’s no way I can cut it out completely but I do want to see how I will feel by lessening my intake. I made an almond tart today with almond flour and have some left! Can I make these cookies but omit the hazelnuts?

    • April 27, 2013 at 9:58 PM #

      Hi Alice! Thank you! I’ve gotten amazing reviews from other bloggers who have made them! Are you allergic to hazelnuts? The hazelnuts are the main base and “glue” for the cookies because they are roasted and then puréed into nut butter…that’s what gives them such depth of flavor and moisture. You could try using almond butter instead…it’s not as creamy as hazelnut butter though. Let me know!:)

  23. June 10, 2013 at 3:30 PM #

    These cookies look soo delicious! I’ve got to try this soon.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. CHOCOLATE AND HAZELNUTS CUPCAKES | Round Trip Ticket - April 5, 2013

    […] Cinnamon Hazelnut Chocolate Chip Cookies (Flour-free, Gluten-free, Oil-free) (thehealthyflavor.com) […]

  2. Gluten Free Chocolate chip buttercream cupcakes | Cupcakepedia - April 10, 2013

    […] Cinnamon Hazelnut Chocolate Chip Cookies (Flour-free, Gluten-free, Oil-free) (thehealthyflavor.com) […]

  3. Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Almond Bread - Can't Stay Out Of The Kitchen - April 13, 2013

    […] Cinnamon Hazelnut Chocolate Chip Cookies (Flour-free, Gluten-free, Oil-free) […]

  4. Chocolate Hazelnut Raspberry Bars-VVP (Gluten-free, Oil-free) | The Healthy Flavor - May 11, 2013

    […] to make and somewhere between all my kitchen madness, I decided to take a jumping point off of my Cinnamon Hazelnut Cookies. I’ve been getting an insane amount of views on them and they have been such a hit with those […]

  5. Chocolate Hazelnut Raspberry Bars - July 9, 2013

    […] to make and somewhere between all my kitchen madness, I decided to take a jumping point off of my Cinnamon Hazelnut Cookies. I’ve been getting an insane amount of views on them and they have been such a hit with those […]

I'd love your feedback!

