Red Beans and Rice Soup (Gluten-free, Oil-free)

We’ve all had red beans and rice, right? It is a complete comfort food to me. I’m going to be sharing 2 more soup recipes to wrap up the cold days. It is starting to warm up now, although I still could eat soup year round. I just love it. One of our favorite meals is my Cajun Red Quinoa & Beans. Well, I decided to take my inspiration from that and make a soup version of the classic. It is so satisfying and filling. I made a gigantic pot of it too. This will serve many people or last a few days in the fridge.

Pin it

Recipe:  Makes 3 quarts  Prep time:  10 mins Cook time: 90-120 mins

Print recipe

Gluten-free

Ingredients:

1 lb dry red beans, rinsed and soaked either overnight or quick soak method (refer to bag directions)

8 cups low sodium vegetable broth

2 bell peppers, finely chopped

1/2 red onion, finely chopped (about a cup)

4 large garlic cloves, minced (2 tablespoons)

2 celery sticks, chopped

8 oz can low sodium tomato sauce

2 bay leaves

1/2 teaspoon thyme leaves

1/2 teaspoon ground chipotle chili spice

1/4 cup nutritional yeast

2 1/2 teaspoon fine sea salt (adjust to your preference)

1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

Brown rice:

1 cup slow cooking organic long grain brown rice

2 1/2 cups water

1/4 teaspoon salt

Bring water and salt to a boil in a saucepan. Once boiling, add rice, stir and cover and simmer on lowest setting for 35-40 minutes. Once rice is tender and all the water has evaporated, turn the heat off. Allow to sit with the lid on for 5 minutes and then fluff with a fork.

Directions for bean soup:

While rice is cooking, prepare all the vegetables and remaining ingredients. In a large pot, add the pre-soaked beans and all of the remaining ingredients. Stir well and bring to a boil. Once boiling, cover and turn to simmer. Simmer with lid lightly tilted for 1 1/2 to 2 hours, or until beans are tender. I like my vegetables very soft in soups, so that is why I add them at the beginning. However, if you prefer them to have more of a bite, add them after about an hour into the beans cooking. After the beans are fully cooked, taste and add any additional seasoning. Garnish with fresh kale.

Pin it

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Entertaining Dishes, Gluten Free, VEGAN, VEGETARIAN

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

25 Comments on “Red Beans and Rice Soup (Gluten-free, Oil-free)”

  1. March 15, 2013 at 5:29 PM #

    looks delicious can’t wait to try!!

  2. March 15, 2013 at 6:22 PM #

    YAY! You’re genius! I’ve been craving red beans and rice ever since I went to New Orleans and have been meaning to find a good vegetarian recipe. This looks easy and delish, thanks so much!!

    • March 16, 2013 at 6:39 PM #

      Thank you so much Erika….VERY easy recipe! Super delicious and filling. You could add sausage too if you wanted. Red beans and rice has always been in my top 5 foods I love!

  3. March 15, 2013 at 8:17 PM #

    Leave the kale off and I’ll have some 😉

  4. March 15, 2013 at 8:43 PM #

    I am not a big fan of kidney beans but most certainly could get used to them in this 🙂
    Yum!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  5. March 15, 2013 at 9:30 PM #

    That looks ‘souper’ yummy and hearty Brandi! I adore soup and could eat it year round as well.

    • March 16, 2013 at 6:41 PM #

      Ha..that was cute Somer! Thank you. Me too…I don’t care how hot the weather is, I’ll still eat soup.

  6. March 15, 2013 at 10:51 PM #

    So delicious, Love red beans and rice.This makes a great soup.

  7. March 16, 2013 at 4:45 AM #

    This soup looks so good. It can be a meal. I am into making soup these days but nothing as attractive compared to yours. I love beans.

  8. March 16, 2013 at 4:53 AM #

    This isn’t just a hearty soup, Brandi, you made it healthier, too. It would be perfect on these chilly, rainy days.

  9. March 16, 2013 at 7:11 PM #

    The kale garnish really tops it off!! My fingers are freezing as I type this, and I could go for a BIG bowl of warm soup!

  10. March 17, 2013 at 12:17 AM #

    Hi Brandi, this dish looks delicious, fresh and healthy! I will definitely give it a try!

  11. petit4chocolatier
    March 17, 2013 at 2:43 PM #

    Brandi, this truly is a very comforting healthy soup. I love red beans, brown rice and chipotle! Looks delicious!!

  12. March 18, 2013 at 2:28 PM #

    Yum, I love red beans and rice! This looks fabulous and so hearty!

  13. March 20, 2013 at 12:36 AM #

    I love rice in soup, this recipe sounds like perfect comfort food to me!

  14. March 20, 2013 at 2:38 PM #

    A fantastic meal in 1 bowl of fine soup! Yum, I say!

  15. April 26, 2013 at 4:38 AM #

    Ohhhhh . . . this looks good. I can’t wait to try this with some vegan cornbread!

I'd love your feedback!

