Butter-Licious Granola (Refined Sugar-Free, Oil-Free, Gluten-Free)

This granola is all about butters…peanut butter and almond butter. I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but store bought granola runs at least $6 a bag for a decent blend…and even those contain added sugars and oils usually. Well, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a peanut and almond butter granola, so here you go! I also use almond flour and sliced almonds to really enhance the almond flavor and texture.

pinit

Granola

Most granolas contain oil or butter right? So, how did I obtain a buttery flavor/texture you ask? Well, instead of using all oats as the base, I use a cup of almond flour in place of some of the oats. It gives them moisture, a buttery taste and incredible chewiness. They end up baking crispy and chewy at the same time….similar to a peanut butter cookie! Pretty amazing! This recipe is a variation of my Chocolate Cinnamon Granola.

Recipe: Makes 6 heaping cups  Prep time: 10 mins  Bake time: 30 mins

Print recipe

Gluten-free (Make sure all ingredients are labeled to be in a gluten-free facility if you’re gluten sensitive, in case of cross contamination)

Dry ingredients:

2 cups old fashioned oats, I use Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free

1 cup blanched almond flour

1/3 cup sliced almonds

1/3 cup chopped pecan pieces

1/4 teaspoon fine sea salt

Wet ingredients:

1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons grade A dark amber pure maple syrup

1/4 cup organic creamy peanut butter

3 heaping tablespoons almond butter (don’t omit as this helps bind the granola and give it a buttery texture)

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

Note: For an an even stronger buttery taste, use 2/3 cup chopped pecans and omit the sliced almonds

Directions:

Preheat an oven to 325 degrees. Place the middle oven rack to the lower rack position below.

In two separate bowls, combine the dry and then the wet ingredients.  Now pour the wet into the dry and stir until evenly coated. Use a rubber spatula to help combine the ingredients. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper and spread the granola out evenly and press down with the back of the spoon to make the granola stick together in clumps. It should be about a 1/2 inch high for nice size chunks. Bake for 15 minutes, then remove from the oven and stir the granola around from the bottom, so it can cook evenly. Place back in the oven and bake for 10-15 more minutes until very golden brown. Let the granola cool 15 minutes or so. It will harden as it cools. Once cool, break it into chunks. Store in a ziplock bag or plastic container in the fridge, to retain its crispiness.

Granola

Just before going into the oven….it should be sticky and in clumps.

Granola

Granola

Baked to a crispy, golden perfection!

granola

If peanut or almond butter isn’t your thing, be sure to try out my Chocolate Cinnamon Granola!

Chocolate Cinnamon Granola

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Breakfast, Gluten Free, Snacks, Sweet Treats, VEGAN, VEGETARIAN

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

42 Comments on “Butter-Licious Granola (Refined Sugar-Free, Oil-Free, Gluten-Free)”

  1. February 20, 2013 at 6:46 PM #

    Your granola looks incredible, I can never quite figure out how to get in clumps. Yours is exactly how my granola wants to be when it grows up. LOVE IT!!

    • February 20, 2013 at 7:10 PM #

      Suzanne, you are so funny, lol!! Thank you! I found the trick was to spread the granola out but making sure it is still stuck together, letting it cook untouched without stirring it constantly during the cooking process. Letting it cook for a solid 15 minutes first, then just stirring it around once (it already starts to form clumps this way) and then another 15 minutes baked it into crispy clumps. It was SO delicious. On my chocolate cinnamon granola…I cook it the whole time without stirring it, and then break into chunks after it cools. But for the peanut butter, it had to be stirred once during because it is softer due to the peanut butter and needed to cook evenly. Hope all my rambling made sense, lol! 🙂

  2. February 20, 2013 at 7:03 PM #

    This sounds delicious!!!! So does the chocolate cinnamon granola!!

    • February 20, 2013 at 7:10 PM #

      Thank you Brittany…they are both SO much better than store bought! 🙂

  3. February 20, 2013 at 7:23 PM #

    Perfection is a mild word 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  4. February 20, 2013 at 10:46 PM #

    Looks soooo good!

  5. February 21, 2013 at 12:35 AM #

    Yummy yummy yummy! I am so pleased to have come across your blog 🙂 Let the baking begin!!

  6. Healthy Glow Nutrition
    February 21, 2013 at 4:15 AM #

    Fantastic recipe Brandi! Looks incredible and healthy! 🙂

    • February 21, 2013 at 10:50 PM #

      Thank you Eva!! 🙂

      • Healthy Glow Nutrition
        February 28, 2013 at 5:11 AM #

        You’re very welcome Brandi 🙂

  7. February 21, 2013 at 6:06 AM #

    Brandi, These looks amazing. The crisp and chewiness already make my mouth water. I love granola but like you say it is quite pricey. Now I can make my own. Thanks for sharing yet another must try recipe.

    • February 21, 2013 at 10:51 PM #

      Thanks Danny! You always make me smile with your kind words!!

  8. February 21, 2013 at 8:20 AM #

    This looks excellent Brandi, I’m really getting into homemade granolas at the moment. Not only for breakfast but been making some savoury ones as texture contrasts to go with dinner.

    • February 21, 2013 at 10:53 PM #

      Thank you so much for following my blog! Oooohh savory…what a great idea…now I’m inspired to do that 🙂

  9. February 21, 2013 at 10:29 AM #

    Brandi, this looks amazing! What a great recipe.

  10. February 21, 2013 at 1:12 PM #

    Brandi, this granola looks incredible. I think I’d be tempted just to eat it straight off the tray… or sprinkled on vanilla ice cream, yum. Thanks for sharing your recipe… maybe perfect granola clusters are achievable after all!

    • February 21, 2013 at 10:56 PM #

      Thank you Laura! I definitely ate PLENTY off the tray! 🙂 So good! And sprinkled on ice cream sounds divine!! The clusters ARE achievable…it has to have the right amount of liquid but more importantly, not stirring too often during baking is what I found worked!

  11. February 21, 2013 at 3:58 PM #

    I think I like the sound of yours better, er, butter:) Love this recipe and I’ll have to give this one a try since my last only made one batch and we’ll be out soon! xx

    • February 21, 2013 at 10:57 PM #

      Thank you Barbara! That was cute 🙂 I hope you try it and I will be trying the one you posted as well!

  12. February 21, 2013 at 10:47 PM #

    I’ve never been one much for granola, Brandi. The few that I’ve tried weren’t at all good — but that was years ago. Yours here is not anything at all like those I’ve tried and I bet it tastes so much better, too. Maybe it’s time I give granola another try? You certainly have made it tempting!

    • February 21, 2013 at 11:00 PM #

      I can see why John…I have found most granolas from the store to be very bland. I can assure you mine are far from that! My biggest problem is controlling myself from eating the whole batch the same day…it’s very addicting!

  13. petit4chocolatier
    February 22, 2013 at 2:05 AM #

    Brandi, this looks delicious! I eat a lot of granola and it is expensive; especially the Kashi cereals. Sometimes I place them in small closure bags for snacks at work. Your recipe is perfect. I love the peanut and almond butter 🙂

    • February 22, 2013 at 5:40 AM #

      Thank you Judy! I agree, it’s so expensive. Homemade truly tastes better too. This is my favorite so far!

  14. February 22, 2013 at 3:06 AM #

    pinned! thanks for sharing – can’t wait to try it out 🙂

  15. Anonymous
    February 22, 2013 at 11:18 PM #

    Now, this is what I call: a real granola recipe: Waw! It looks freaking tasty! Yum!

    • February 25, 2013 at 5:34 AM #

      Thank you so much! I appreciate that…please let me know if you try it! It definitely is my favorite granola EVER 🙂

  16. February 23, 2013 at 9:25 PM #

    I’m on a bit of a granola kick right now so I can’t wait to try out this recipe soon!!

    • February 25, 2013 at 5:35 AM #

      Wonderful! Please let me know when you do! It’s my favorite for sure 🙂

  17. February 24, 2013 at 1:24 AM #

    Whoa, Brandi, your granola looks fantastic! It’s such a gorgeous golden brown – I can imagine that satisfying crunch when you bite into it. Every single time i see a granola recipe, I think to myself: I need to try it. So I’ll say it again: I really need to try this!

    • February 25, 2013 at 5:37 AM #

      Thanks so much Nancy! It is crunchy, chewy and sweet…so reminds me of a crunchy peanut butter cookie. The way I baked it was crucial to obtaining the perfect crisp 🙂

  18. February 24, 2013 at 12:31 PM #

    Waw! What a tasty looking granola!
    It looks freaking delicious too!

  19. February 25, 2013 at 2:46 PM #

    YUM this sounds totally fantastic! I love that you made it without any oil–I’ve been dying to try making peanut butter granola without oil! But this is definitely going on my list as well. So brilliant to use almond flour in addition to the oats!

    • March 1, 2013 at 1:12 PM #

      Thank you so much Erika!! The almond flour gives it such a wonderful moist flavor and incredible chew! You would love it. It is so addicting and is my favorite granola ever!! Totally don’t need oil!!

  20. February 27, 2013 at 9:48 PM #

    Very nice! I haven’t made my own granola in years;I did it for my sons, but not the grandkids. You have inspired me!

    • March 1, 2013 at 1:13 PM #

      Thank you so much Tonette! It is so delicious. I will never buy store bought…it isn’t even half as good and it’s way overpriced!

  21. April 2, 2013 at 7:02 AM #

    Reblogged this on Teasured Recipies…….

I'd love your feedback!

