Chipotle Red Pepper Dip (Gluten-free, Oil-free, Fat-free)

I’ve got a special treat for you today….and it’s NOT dessert. I’ve been posting a lot of desserts lately, but it is the holidays afterall. This dip, sauce or whatever you want to call it, is screaming with flavors and it is extremely versatile. I used it here for dipping breadsticks in, but it is also AWESOME as a pizza sauce base on my veggie pizza! I’ll share that recipe later on, but yeah, it is soooo much better than plain old sauce from a jar. This dip also happens to be oil free.

Pin it

Chipotle Pepper Dip

I had it taste tested on Christmas Eve and it was a winner.

Chipotle Pepper Dip

I just made breadsticks from Ezekiel bread, sprinkled with a tiny amount of sea salt and smoked paprika. DELISH!

Chipotle Pepper Dip

Come to think of it…it would make the perfect dip served at a New Year’s Party! Right?! Packed full of roasted red bell peppers, sundried tomatoes and smoky flavorings, it is delicious any way you use it.

Chipotle Pepper Dip

Recipe: Serves four 1/4 cup portions  Prep time: 10 mins 

Gluten-free  (Make sure all your ingredients are labeled to be in a gluten-free facility if you’re gluten sensitive, in case of cross contamination)

Ingredients:

  • 1 full cup roasted red bell peppers (either roast yourself or use them from a jar, but don’t use the liquid)
  • 1/2 cup sundried tomatoes (the dry kind from a bag, not a jar that is soaked in oil)
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 2 large cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
  • 2-3 tablespoons water (adjust as needed for desired thickness of dip)
  • 2 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 2 teaspoons dried parsley flakes
  • few pinches of chipotle pepper spice (adjust according to heat-o-meter)
  • sea salt to taste (optional)

Note: I didn’t add any salt, as I felt it didn’t need any with the nutritional yeast and sundried tomatoes giving so much flavor. Add if you like.

Directions:

If you can…I’d recommend making this either very early in the day, or the day before you actually plan on serving it, as the flavors really intensify and it tastes even more delicious as time passes. If not though, of course it’s still delicious right out of the processor. I just notice it is even better the next day.

If you choose to roast your own bell pepper, just roast it in an oven at 400 degrees for 20-30 minutes until well charred. Peel the skin and remove the core and seeds. Slice the bell pepper and measure out 1 cup. Depending on the size of your bell pepper, you may need to roast 2 so you can have a cup’s worth. Or you can just purchase roasted bell peppers in the jar…those taste delicious too, just make sure to get them out with a fork and don’t use the liquid. Add the bell peppers, sundried tomatoes and garlic to a food processor and pulse until broken up, scraping the sides as necessary. Add the remaining ingredients and pulse several times, scraping the sides in between, until dip is very smooth and creamy, with no remaining lumps. Either serve it at room temperature or slightly heated over the stovetop. I like mine warm.

Ways to serve:

*Dilute it a bit with some vegetable broth and serve over pasta.

*Serve as a dip for breadsticks or veggies.

*Use as a pizza sauce which is DELISH!

Nutrition per serving: 58 calories/ 0g fat/ 9 carbs/ 4.5g protein

Chipotle Pepper Dip

Pin it

Check out my other appetizers too for the New Year’s Day!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Appetizers, Gluten Free, Party Platters, Snacks, VEGAN, VEGETARIAN

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

39 Comments on “Chipotle Red Pepper Dip (Gluten-free, Oil-free, Fat-free)”

  1. December 30, 2012 at 5:45 PM #

    Looks scrumptious!
    Your photography is also really quite stunning.

    • December 31, 2012 at 1:41 AM #

      Thank you so much Cindy!! That means so much to me to hear that! 🙂

  2. December 30, 2012 at 8:35 PM #

    I love love love the sound of this! And I am currently very interested in anything oil-free, as I’m about embark on a low-fat raw vegan challenge next month. Thanks for this great recipe!

    Happy new year!

    • December 31, 2012 at 1:43 AM #

      Thank you Raechel! Yes, I too, am trying to do as many oil-free recipes as possible. I don’t use it too often, but I’m still trying to dramatically decrease it. I actually made this dip both ways…with and without oil and there was no difference in flavor…so it didn’t need it!

  3. December 31, 2012 at 5:28 AM #

    Look so good! And healthy. I love red pepper but have never made them into a dip before. Thank you for sharing. I am sure to try it out.

    • December 31, 2012 at 6:15 AM #

      Thank you! Yes, it balances nicely with the tartness of the sun-dried tomatoes and smoky flavoring. It is so versatile too. I mixed it with pasta tonight for dinner topped with nutritional yeast and it was sooo good. 🙂

      • December 31, 2012 at 7:35 AM #

        You made my mouth water. 🙂

  4. December 31, 2012 at 6:42 AM #

    I have loads of red bell peppers right now. Can’t wait to try this. I love that it’s oil and salt free and I can tell that it doesn’t need either of them! 🙂

    • December 31, 2012 at 10:30 PM #

      Thank you Somer!! It really doesn’t need it and it was a relief. The juicy bell pepers and broth gave it plenty of moisture for my liking. 🙂

  5. petit4chocolatier
    December 31, 2012 at 7:29 PM #

    Brandi, this looks so delicious and perfect! I am thinking about Super Bowl Sunday too 🙂

  6. December 31, 2012 at 11:05 PM #

    I’ve used roasted red peppers to dress pasta before and I bet this dip of yours is delicious, no matter how it’s used. That color is incredible and I bet this dip finds a home at more than a few Super Bowl parties.

    • January 1, 2013 at 1:20 AM #

      Thank you so much John! I am in love with the color..as red is my favorite, haha..but seriously, I didn’t even edit the color on my photos…that is just the natural beautiful color with the great lighting that day! I’ve eaten so much of this stuff the past few days! Happy New Year!

  7. January 1, 2013 at 6:10 PM #

    This looks amazing! I would probably eat this by the spoon! On everything!

  8. January 2, 2013 at 6:24 AM #

    Looks very yummy… love that your blog is now showing the full magic of your photos… 🙂 well done…

    • January 2, 2013 at 7:01 PM #

      Awww Thom you just made my day! Thank you so much for such a beautiful compliment….I so passionately enjoy doing this and learning to make my photos stand out…lots of practice, so I appreciate you complimenting them, truly. Happy New Year! 🙂

  9. January 2, 2013 at 4:07 PM #

    You had me at chipotle spice! And I love the idea of using it as a pizza sauce, such an original twist.

    Happy new year Brandi! All the best to you and your family!

    • January 3, 2013 at 7:55 AM #

      Thank you so much Paola!! Yes, I love that chipotle spice…such a tiny bit really kicks it up a notch and adds such a nice depth of heat/spice that is do different than regular pepper. It’s super good in here! Happy new year to you too and I look forward to more yummy food/recipes we can share 🙂

  10. January 3, 2013 at 7:27 AM #

    This dip sounds heavenly! I love that vibrant red colour and can only imagine how packed with flavour it is. Using it as a base for pizza is brilliant – that would be WAY tastier than the frozen stuff I have in my freezer 😉

    • January 3, 2013 at 7:57 AM #

      Thank you Nancy!! After I made it, I was like…oh heck no…forget plain old tomato pizza sauce..,this stuff really livens up the veggies on the pizza…mmmmmm!

  11. January 3, 2013 at 5:56 PM #

    Ahhh Brandi you are killing me! I got so excited (I love oil-free dips) and I have everything on the list to make this….except liquid smoke. (Also bell peppers, but I’m going grocery shopping today, easy peasy!) Can you buy that at a regular grocery store? How essential would you say it is? I can’t wait to make this and eat it with pita chips, on a sandwich, on a pizza, on a salad, etc!!

    • January 3, 2013 at 6:17 PM #

      Haha thank you Erika! I’m trying to do all my recipes now oil-free and refined sugar-free. 🙂
      Yes, you can get the liquid smoke anywhere…I get it at my local grocery store near the barbeque sauces and marinades. I would say it’s pretty essential as it adds some liquid and it lends a definite smoky flavor to the dip…you could tryusing a tad bit more broth and extra smoked paprika but I find them to give off different flavors so that’s why I used both. It would still be good I’m sure though. Let me know if you try it! 🙂

      • January 3, 2013 at 6:38 PM #

        Oh nice! It sounded so fancy, but good to know I can buy it anywhere. Thanks Brandi! I’ll definitely let you know when I make it!!

  12. January 4, 2013 at 1:27 PM #

    A grand & verty tasty dip! I love it! MMMM!

  13. January 6, 2013 at 9:21 PM #

    This looks amazing Brandi. Such beautiful photos too. I love it when recipes get me googling. Liquid smoke! Ezekiel Bread! 🙂
    Liquid smoke is apparently only just becoming available here in Australia. I’m on the hunt. Very intrigued.

  14. January 7, 2013 at 12:28 AM #

    Thank you so much Saskia! I appreciate that..what a compliment! 🙂 It is such a yummy flavor but if you can’t find it, just up the smoked paprika, or a tad of cumin spice since it lends a smoky flavor. 🙂

  15. January 16, 2013 at 8:52 AM #

    yummy photos!

  16. January 21, 2013 at 3:02 PM #

    Gotta send this one to my daughter! Thanks!

  17. January 25, 2013 at 12:59 AM #

    Wow Brandi, you’ve done it again, I cannot wait to try this!

    • February 2, 2013 at 4:09 PM #

      Thank you Heather?, I hope you enjoy it! It’s so bursting in flavor!

  18. February 2, 2013 at 3:51 PM #

    This is wonderful and I love using liquid smoke in just about anything! however, I have never heard of Nutritional Yeast – could you help me out? I would really like to make it!

    • February 2, 2013 at 4:13 PM #

      Thank you so much! Absolutely, here is a link on nutritional yeast. It is fat free and they are healthy flakes high in vitamin b12 and have a very salty, cheesy flavor so they impart great flavor in vegan dishes. You can get it in the health food section of some grocery stores, also at Whole foods and definitely online. If you aren’t vegan, Parmesan cheese is a great substitute. (Get the fine powdered kind if you use parmesan cheese)
      http://www.vitaminlife.com/product-exec/PNAME/Nutritional-Yeast-Seasoning/product_id/59911?gclid=CNzLoMqAmLUCFbRbPAodw0IAPg

      • February 2, 2013 at 4:43 PM #

        I’m not vegan however, I have a B12 issue and am always on the lookout for foods strong in that and Iron. I’m going to check it out! Thank you so much!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Guilt-Free Super Bowl Party Food | The Healthy Flavor - February 2, 2013

    […] Chipotle Pepper Dip […]

  2. Guilt-Free Super Bowl Party Food | The Vegan 8 - May 4, 2013

    […] Chipotle Pepper Dip […]

I'd love your feedback!

