Gingersnap Peppermint Muffins

Gingersnap cookie turned muffin! I’ve got a really festive Christmas inspired post for you today. I looove gingersnaps so I wanted that same flavor in a muffin. This time of year is so much FUN for me…the baking, the decorating, the snow….oh wait, I’m in Texas, nevermind! Ha!

I just love Christmas decorations, don’t you?! I love all the red (my favorite color), the lights, the sparkly ornaments, etc.! I’ve noticed the spice that seems to be used the most during the season is ginger. I went to my grocery store the other day and they were completely out of it, every single brand! I was so frustrated. I had things to bake with! Here are my creations using that wonderful ginger, roasted ginger in fact.

Pin it

Gingersnap Mint Muffins

This recipe has definitely been tested and re-tested so if you make substitutions…they are at your own risk, haha! 🙂 I didn’t want to use all whole wheat pastry flour, so I did several trials using different amounts of flour, liquids, etc. and the result is the recipe below. It gave me the flavor and texture I wanted. By using just a small amount of oat flour, it gives the muffins a nice beautiful texture and a soft interior.

Gingersnap Mint Muffins

Recipe: Makes 10-12 muffins or one gingerbread man  Prep time: 10 mins  Bake time: 14-15 mins

Print recipe

Dry Ingredients:

1 cup + 2 tablespoons whole wheat pastry flour

1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons oat flour (I ground up my own oats for a rougher texture, just make sure to measure after grinding. Grind about 1/2 cup regular oats and then measure. If you use commercially ground, the amount may need to be adjusted a little)

3/4 cup + 2 tablespoons organic sugar (I tried coconut sugar and it was not sweet enough with these measurements, so adjust accordingly if you use it)

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

1 1/2 to 2 teaspoons roasted ground ginger (depending on how spicy you want it)

3/4 teaspoon ground allspice

just under 1/2 teaspoon fine sea salt

couple of tablespoons of crushed peppermint candies (optional)

Wet Ingredients:

1/2 cup+ 1 tablespoon regular unsweetened coconut milk (carton, not canned)

1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons grapeseed oil

3 tablespoons blackstrap molasses (unsulphered will work too I’m sure)

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 1/2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar

Tip: If you don’t want to put any peppermint candies in the actual muffins, you can just sprinkle them on top after they have cooled completely after coming out of the oven. I did this with one of the batches and loved it! Just a touch of peppermint!

Directions:

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees. Spray with nonstick spray a muffin pan and lay small round circles of parchment paper inside the muffin pan cups. I just cut small round circles myself, rubbed them on the greased muffin pan, then flipped them over so that both sides of the paper were greased. This made for a very easy removal of the muffins. I highly recommend this. Using paper liners makes the muffins stick and not using the parchment paper makes the muffins still stick to the bottom or really greasy.

Sift together or use a mesh strainer to combine all the dry ingredients into a medium sized bowl. Whisk very well until thoroughly combined and no lumps remain. Stir in the peppermint candies, if using. In a small coffee mug, combine the milk, oil, molasses and vanilla and whisk well. Now whisk in the apple cider vinegar and immediately pour into the dry ingredients. Stir with a spoon just until combined, being careful not to over mix.

Carefully spoon the batter into the prepared muffin pan, filling up 10-12 cups. Bake for 14-15 minutes, or until a few dry crumbs on a toothpick remain when inserted in the center of a muffin. Do not over bake, or they will be dry! Let them cool for 10 minutes and then loosen them around the edges with a butter knife, if necessary, and cool completely before removing them or they will fall apart. They should slide out fairly easy, as long as you used the parchment paper. Sprinkle crushed peppermint on top of the muffins once they have completely cooled.

That’s my gingerbread man in the background….I kind of overcooked him, so I didn’t do a closeup. 🙂 He was still tasty though!

Merry Christmas!

Have you “liked” me on Facebook yet?? 🙂

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Christmas, Entertaining Dishes, Gift Ideas, Sweet Treats, VEGAN, VEGETARIAN

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

29 Comments on “Gingersnap Peppermint Muffins”

  1. Tiffany C
    December 17, 2012 at 10:50 PM #

    Beautiful and yum!

  2. December 17, 2012 at 11:22 PM #

    This might be an excellent use up for the tons of natural peppermint candies I have!

    • December 18, 2012 at 1:10 AM #

      Yes, Sarah I think so! Or use them for my Chocolate Peppermint Shortbread. 😉 I tried them with Peppermints inside and then some just on top.,,they are good both ways but I think I prefer them just on top, can’t decide. Oh life’s tough decisions haha 🙂
      I’m obsessed with ginger and peppermint lately. I have 2 more posts coming with Peppermint! 🙂

  3. December 18, 2012 at 1:33 AM #

    These do sound really good. I love how the peppermint on top makes them look so Christmas-y. Your food styling and photography for this post is quite nice, too.

    • December 18, 2012 at 3:02 AM #

      Thanks so much John! I truly appreciate that! I really enjoy doing the food styling in addition to the photography, etc. 🙂

  4. petit4chocolatier
    December 18, 2012 at 2:16 AM #

    Brandi, I love ginger and have gone to heaven with this post. These sound and look scrumptious. I would have loved to see the gingerbread man. A little overcooked doesn’t hurt 🙂 Beautiful touch with the peppermint!!

    • December 18, 2012 at 3:04 AM #

      Thank you Judy!! They are soooo good…I love a strong ginger taste with that heat…and then the peppermint cools and refreshes it…so yummy. I guess I could have posted the gingerbread man…I guess I can add him in, he is just burnt so I didn’t like it, haha!!

  5. December 18, 2012 at 3:19 PM #

    Brandi, I LOVE these! so festive!! Have you tried baking with candied ginger? My friend Nancy, from Gottagetbaked, has been baking with that a lot. . and I am SO going to try it! I just heard that it might take me a few places and some time to find it! 🙂 but you are right! I can see why ginger is so popular!! love it!

    • December 18, 2012 at 5:28 PM #

      Thanks so much Alice! I actually haven’t yet, but I almost bought some the other day when I saw a jar of it!! I need to get some too..I bet they’d be great in cookies!! Yummy!

  6. December 18, 2012 at 11:28 PM #

    What the what? You’re breaking the rules Brandi and combining too much deliciousness into one little muffin! 😉 I love it!

    • December 19, 2012 at 5:43 AM #

      Hahaha! I love that Somer! I don’t follow rules 😉 I’m a little obsessed with ginger and peppermint lately and have more recipes coming this week with those ingredients! 🙂

      • December 19, 2012 at 5:44 AM #

        Woohoo!

  7. December 19, 2012 at 3:45 AM #

    These look so fun…so festive!

  8. December 19, 2012 at 6:51 AM #

    Brandi, I love baking with ginger and these muffins look so gorgeous and festive! I’d have never thought of mixing the flavour with peppermint but why not? T’is the season! Thank you for the lovely comment you left recently on my blog (I always like responding to my comments but it’s been so busy lately). I am definitely a fan of yours as well 🙂 Happy holidays!

    • December 19, 2012 at 1:23 PM #

      Thanks so much Nancy!! The peppermint is a nice touch and after effect from the spice of the ginger…sooo yummy! Thanks to Alice, I discovered your blog 🙂

  9. December 19, 2012 at 2:33 PM #

    MMMM,..;what a great & tasty idea! I love the molasses in here too!

  10. December 19, 2012 at 4:24 PM #

    That little sprinkle of peppermint on top makes these so photogenic. I’ve been totally obsessed with gingersnaps this year–such a fantastic idea to turn them into muffins!!!

    • December 20, 2012 at 1:10 AM #

      Oh yeah..I’ve been going crazy with the peppermint and gingersnap flavors. Posts lined up with them! Funny, you mention your gingersnap obsession lately…..;)

  11. December 19, 2012 at 8:40 PM #

    These are adorable and sound delicious!! That gingerman looks huge!! YUM!

    • December 20, 2012 at 1:11 AM #

      Thank you Brittany!! He was big, but overdone, lol! I still had NO reservations about eating him though! Haha!

  12. December 20, 2012 at 9:03 AM #

    i like your all cooking’s… keep in touch… 🙂

  13. December 20, 2012 at 4:55 PM #

    These look so good! I have actually never toasted ginger before baking (have done it with nutmeg etc, but never ginger!) Will definitely be trying it. Thanks! I love how I learn something from yoru blog each time haha

    • December 21, 2012 at 1:48 AM #

      Thank you so much Paola! I actually found that spice called roasted ginger, I didn’t have to actually do it myself. 🙂 oh, and thank you..I learned about toasting flour from you! I can’t wait to do that. I’m inspired! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Gingersnap Pancakes With Ginger Syrup ‘N’ Cream | The Healthy Flavor - December 20, 2012

    […] my “secret” pancake tips. Can you tell I’ve been on a gingersnap kick lately? My Gingersnap Peppermint Muffins turned out so delicious, I wanted to make some pancakes with that same gingersnap flavor. These […]

I'd love your feedback!

