Special Ingredient Tomato Bisque

What comes to mind when you think of bisque? Creamy, thick, indulgent?

Usually, cream is added to obtain the thick and creamy result….but not in mine! I decided to think outside the box and used sweet potato to give it that thick, creamy result and it turned out sooo delicious! It also gives it that subtle sweetness you typically find in a bisque, so there is no need for sugar either! I also used no cream or oil, yet you wouldn’t know it.

Recipe:  Serves 2-4 (makes 3 cups)  Prep time: 10 mins  Cook time: 35 mins

Print recipe  Print grocery list

Gluten free (Make sure all ingredients are labeled to be in a gluten-free facility if you’re gluten sensitive, in case of cross contamination)

Ingredients:

2 pints (4 cups) grape tomatoes

1 1/2 cups low sodium vegetable broth

1/2 cup chopped white onion

1/2-3/4 cup cooked and mashed sweet potato, as needed for thickness

2-3 large garlic cloves (depending on how garlicky you like it)

1 teaspoon smoked paprika

2 tablespoons nutritional yeast

1/4 teaspoon each of these dried herbs: oregano, thyme, parsley flakes

1/4 teaspoon fine sea salt (add more if you like)

1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

1/4 cup regular unsweetened coconut milk (from the carton, not can)

arrowroot (optional)

Directions:

Tip: While the bisque is cooking, cook the sweet potato to your desired method. I just wrapped mine in plastic wrap and popped it in the microwave.

Throw all the ingredients (except the milk, sweet potato and arrowroot) into a pot and stir. Bring to a boil, allow to cook for one minute, then turn to low and simmer for 30 minutes with the lid on. Stir occasionally during the simmering process. After 30 minutes, mash the tomatoes with the back of a spoon or masher. Stir, return the lid and cook 5 more minutes. Add the milk and stir to heat though. Turn off the heat and pour the bisque into a food processor. Now, add the cooked sweet potato and place a towel over the top lid for added safety, because it’s so hot. Pulse until well puréed and creamy. If you want it a bit thicker, add just a 1/4 teaspoon or so of arrowroot. Taste and add any additional salt, if desired. I always find that slow cooking tomatoes brings out such flavor, so that’s why I use minimal salt in this recipe.

Depending on how powerful your processor is, you can strain the soup to get rid of any skins your tomatoes left behind. I didn’t mind them, but it’s a personal preference.

Check out that beautiful color…..

Did you join my site over to the right? Never miss a recipe! Thank you to everybody who has “liked” me on Facebook! I appreciate all the support!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Gluten Free, VEGAN, VEGETARIAN

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

24 Comments on “Special Ingredient Tomato Bisque”

  1. November 30, 2012 at 5:26 PM #

    Looks wonderful, what does the nutritional yeast do? Does it add flavor or a nutritional value or both? I love tomato bisque.

    • November 30, 2012 at 10:08 PM #

      Thank you! It actually does both, but I use it mainly for flavor. It imparts a salty, nutty cheesy flavor. It is DELISH! It is similar to parmesan cheese so it is used in a lot of vegan dishes in place of cheese. It’s also high in nutrients in vitamins so it’s a win win!

      • December 1, 2012 at 12:36 AM #

        I remember a friend of mine made vegan mac and cheese using nutritional yeast and it was delicious. I must get some you are right it’s a win win,

  2. November 30, 2012 at 6:17 PM #

    Gorgeous soup!! Fresh tomato bisque, I love it 🙂

  3. November 30, 2012 at 6:40 PM #

    One of my favourites my friend yours looks so fresh and inviting 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  4. November 30, 2012 at 8:42 PM #

    I nearly always use a potao to thicken my soups but it is a great idea to use sweet potatoes here, also for the colour! MMMMM!

    Great idea, Brandi! Have a great weekend! 🙂

    • November 30, 2012 at 10:11 PM #

      Aww thanks Sophie! I’ve never used sweet potato as a thickener before but since so many bisques have sugar in them, I thought it would be great to do both and the color of course doesn’t compete, it just compliments the tomatoes 🙂 Have a wonderful weekend yourself!

  5. November 30, 2012 at 9:49 PM #

    Oooh my boyfriend loves tomato soup and I love sweet potatoes and just bought nutritional yeast! So I am pinning this to hopefully make soon, thanks for the great recipe!!

  6. November 30, 2012 at 9:51 PM #

    Wait also. What are those round things chilling in the soup? They look delish!

    • November 30, 2012 at 10:12 PM #

      Ha! Those are homemade tomato basil crackers I made. They turned out good but I’m not 100% pleased with them so I don’t want to post that recipe until I have it just right. They aren’t “good enough” in my opinion! 😉

      • November 30, 2012 at 10:29 PM #

        Ooh okay. I eagerly await the recipe! 🙂

  7. petit4chocolatier
    December 1, 2012 at 3:48 AM #

    Oh Brandi, this is incredible. I love the colour. Interesting ingredients that sound delicious alone and together. I have never used nutritional yeast; sounds intriguing. Love this!!

  8. December 1, 2012 at 12:59 PM #

    I love all the healthy ideas in your recipe
    Sweet potato instead of cream and nutritional yeast instead of cheese
    I have one question though..why coconut milk out of a carton not a can?
    We only get the one in a can here

    • December 1, 2012 at 3:43 PM #

      Thank you so much! I prefer the milk from the carton because the canned coconut is much thicker and I’m afraid it would taste too coconut-ty, but come to think of it, it would definitely make it creamier and probably wouldn’t need much, so you probably couldn’t taste the coconut! Let me know if you try it 🙂

  9. December 2, 2012 at 7:20 AM #

    I love this!! So inventive to use mashed sweet potato!!! Love this!!

  10. January 3, 2013 at 5:28 PM #

    Oh my gosh, this looks so good! I love using sweet potatoes in recipes – I make sweet potato pancakes and sweet potato burritos (both recipes are on my blog if you want to check them out). I was scrolling through your blog and your pictures are so mouth-watering! I decided to cut back on sugar for the New Year, but I might have to try your cookies because they look way too good to pass up!

    • January 4, 2013 at 3:19 AM #

      Aww thanks so much!! I appreciate the kind words! Ohhh sweet potato pancakes…I always wanted to make those….I totally LOVE sweet potatoes and need to check out your recipes…thank you!!!

  11. April 13, 2013 at 1:40 AM #

    What a unique take on the classic! Love it Brandi!

I'd love your feedback!

