Homemade Almond Milk

Chocolate Almond Milk

I have a new favorite thing…it’s called homemade almond milk. I’ve been meaning to make my own for awhile now, knowing how easy it would probably be. However, after checking out Pam over at Enjoyingrealfood and her post on it, I knew it was time. Be sure to check her blog out! I was able to make some amazing homemade almond milk. Not only is it delicious, but there is no preservatives or questionable ingredients. Also, it can be flavored to your own taste. I made vanilla and chocolate….vanilla is delicious, but the chocolate….OMG! One thing I missed about going vegan was chocolate milk…no more! I came up with a yummy flavor that totally thrilled me!

Vanilla Almond Milk

I was amazed at the bright fresh milk that appeared before my eyes! It was so amazingly easy, I felt guilty for spending so much money on store bought products! I followed her basic recipe, but adapted the flavors for my husband’s sweet tooth. You can totally omit any sweetner if you want to keep it plain. I found with just a tiny bit of vanilla and maple syrup though, it was delicious.

If you’ve never had almond milk before, don’t make this expecting it to taste like traditional whole cow’s milk. It’s not as thick or rich, it also doesn’t give the same bloated feeling like milk does, nor all the extra fat. It’s creamy, but light and refreshing. Served alongside with my sweet and smoky roasted almonds (recipe coming tomorrow), it was a tasty and nutritious snack.

Gluten free (Make sure all ingredients are labeled to be in a gluten free facility if you’re gluten sensitive, in case of cross contamination)

Ingredients:

Vanilla Almond Milk:

1/2 cup whole raw plain almonds

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract or a vanilla bean

1 tablespoon maple syrup or agave (adjust to your preference or omit completely if you prefer it plain)

1-2 cups filtered water, depending on desired thickness

Pinch fine sea salt

Chocolate Almond Milk:

1/2 cup whole raw plain almonds

1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 tablespoons maple syrup or agave

1 tablespoon + 1 teaspoon dark unsweetened cocoa (this is important to achieve the authentic chocolate taste, I used Hershey’s)

1 teaspoon regular unsweetened cocoa

2 cups filtered water-you can add more if you like but I wanted it to be a little thick (do not use tap!)

1 tablespoon coconut cream from a can stored in the fridge overnight (optional for a really rich milk!)

Pinch fine sea salt

Directions:

The ingredients are slightly different, but the process is the same for both vanilla and chocolate. If you want to make both at the same time, use two separate bowls. Add the almonds to a cereal bowl and cover with filtered water by at least an inch. Let it soak for 8 hours or overnight. After soaking, drain and rinse the almonds in the sink. Add the almonds, sweetener, vanilla, salt and filtered water and blend until creamy and frothy. Taste and add any more sweetener or water if desired. Strain the milk (a nut bag works best) over a pitcher or bowl and store the almond pulp in the fridge, if saving. You may want to strain it a few times if you don’t have a nut bag to get it more smooth. I personally liked it thick. So amazingly delicious!!

Tip: As you store the milk in the fridge, it becomes richer and slightly thicker. You can shake and stir it before each use if preferred.

These are my sweet mesquite almonds that are a fraction of the cost from the stores. I’ll be sharing that recipe tomorrow!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Chocolate, Gluten Free, Sweet Treats, VEGAN, VEGETARIAN

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

23 Comments on “Homemade Almond Milk”

  1. Healthy Glow Nutrition
    October 23, 2012 at 4:23 PM #

    What a great recipe and idea! I have made almond milk a long time ago..I don’t know why I stopped..I will definitely make this recipe. I look forward to your mesquite almond recipe as well. 🙂

    • October 23, 2012 at 5:00 PM #

      Thank you! Yes, I’m kicking myself for waiting so long! I’m thankful for Pam posting about it! 🙂

  2. October 23, 2012 at 4:32 PM #

    This is brilliant!! Love the recipe for chocolate milk. That’s definitely going on the list! 🙂

    • October 23, 2012 at 5:02 PM #

      Thank you so much Maribel! The chocolate is soooo yummy and the best part is you can make it as sweet as you want. Adding just a bit of the coconut cream really makes it rich…so yummy! 🙂

  3. October 23, 2012 at 5:06 PM #

    Your recipe rocks.Healthy never tasted so good .thank you .jalal

    • October 23, 2012 at 5:11 PM #

      Haha! Thank you Jalal but I can’t take all the credit, Pam is the smart one…I just created my own version 🙂

  4. October 23, 2012 at 6:46 PM #

    Your almond milk is one of the best recipes I have seen 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    • October 23, 2012 at 8:09 PM #

      Thank you Uru! I knew you’d like the chocolate my friend!! I drank buckets of it already lol 🙂

  5. petit4chocolatier
    October 23, 2012 at 11:20 PM #

    Excellent recipes! I especially love the chocolate recipe! And I have all the ingredients : )
    This is so much better than store bought!

  6. October 24, 2012 at 12:45 AM #

    Thanks for the recipe! I love almond milk.

  7. October 24, 2012 at 2:04 AM #

    Brandi, I’m glad you made it the way you and your husband like it! I tend to go toward the lean side, and then kick it up for special treats. Like that chocolate almond milk! Good thinking! I can’t wait to try it. It would probably be a good substitute for hot chocolate, too!

    • October 24, 2012 at 6:58 AM #

      No, thank YOU Pam!! I would have never made it if it weren’t for you! I’m so greatful. I tried commenting on your blog multiple times this weekend about it but for some reason I’m having issues commenting on other blogs from my iPad…I think they may have gone to your spam! So frustrating, but I’ve contacted support. Anyhow, oh yum, hot chocolate…what a great idea, need to do that!! Thanks again 🙂

      • October 24, 2012 at 11:58 AM #

        I just checked my spam and you’re right – 3 comments from you were in there. And I had tried 3 times to follow your blog, and finally it worked. Haha! The imperfections of technology. I don’t mind at all – thanks for liking it enough to work with it! 🙂

  8. October 24, 2012 at 5:47 AM #

    Brandi, this is great! Wow! I am going to pass this on to my friend. Her daughter is allergic and can only drink almond milk! love this!

    • October 24, 2012 at 6:59 AM #

      Thank you so much Alice!! I truly appreciate that! 🙂

      • October 25, 2012 at 5:34 AM #

        I love almond milk! Thank you for the share!

      • October 27, 2012 at 5:28 PM #

        Thank you so much for visiting 🙂

  9. January 14, 2013 at 5:45 PM #

    I am so making the chocolate today, how in the world did I miss this?? I love almond milk.

    • January 14, 2013 at 5:48 PM #

      It’s so yummy! And you’re so right, what I love is how easily adaptable it is to change to our own taste.mmmm 🙂

  10. January 18, 2013 at 8:23 PM #

    Made the chocolate almond milk and I am in love, I am a chocolate milk fanatic and I like this even more than regular cows milk. The addition of the coconut cream fooled me into thinking I was almost like having a milk shake. Delicious!

    • January 18, 2013 at 9:32 PM #

      Oh yay! I’m so glad to hear that!! Isn’t it yummy?! I love chocolate milk too, and when it’s healthy…all the more so! Thanks for letting me know you tried it 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sweet Mesquite Almonds | The Healthy Flavor - October 25, 2012

    […] ate these with my homemade almond milk. […]

I'd love your feedback!

