Avocado Hummus (Gluten-Free, Oil-Free)

You might say I’m a little obsessed with hummus. I love it and I love making different flavors of it. I had two very ripe avocados that needed to be used, pronto. So, here you have a protein and healthy fat dip. Delicious and filling. I just dipped carrots in it, but you could even thin it out with some broth and put it on some pasta I bet!

Gorgeous green color. I added just a few pieces of arugula to enhance the green color…I’m sure spinach would work great too.

Recipe: Serves 4 Prep time: 10 mins

Print recipe

Gluten free (Make sure ingredients are labeled to be in a gluten free facility if you’re gluten sensitive, in case of cross contamination)

Ingredients:

2 small ripe avocados, about a heaping cup

oneΒ 15 oz can garbanzo beans or chickpeas, drained and rinsed well

2 large garlic cloves (or to taste)

3-4 jalapeno slices from jar (depending on desired heat)

juice from 1 lemon

2 teaspoons cumin

1/2 teaspoon chili powder

1 teaspoon fine sea salt

several grinds fresh black pepper

few pieces of spinach or arugula to achieve desired color

Directions:

Drain and rinse the beans well. Add the beans to a food processor and pulse until smooth, scraping the sides as necessary. Add the remaining ingredients and pulse until very smooth, it may take a couple minutes. The chili powder changes the green color a bit, so that is why I added the arugula. It only takes a small amount. Taste and add any more seasonings if desired.

Nutrition based on 4 servings: Β 203 calories/ 11g fat/ 7g protein/ 23 carbs (nutrition data is approximate)

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Appetizers, Gluten Free, Snacks, VEGAN, VEGETARIAN

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

35 Comments on “Avocado Hummus (Gluten-Free, Oil-Free)”

  1. October 19, 2012 at 7:25 PM #

    I love hummus too! The avocado would make it so creamy and rich, and really think the arugula is a brilliant edition.

    • October 19, 2012 at 7:33 PM #

      Thank you so much! It needed just a tiny bit to enhance the color after adding the chili powder, but if one doesn’t like the strong flavor of arugula, spinach would work since its no flavor really!

      • October 19, 2012 at 7:36 PM #

        I love arugula and think its the perfect compliment to the avocado and chick peas. I am going to try this at a party I am having, I love that it’s healthful and delicious at the same time.

      • October 19, 2012 at 7:52 PM #

        Oh wonderful, I hope you love it…you can always add more or less of the spices/jalapeΓ±o to adjust to your preference πŸ™‚

  2. October 19, 2012 at 7:38 PM #

    I’d like the sharpness of the greens – hummus itself is pretty plain. Sounds delicious!

    • October 19, 2012 at 7:51 PM #

      Thank you Sarah, I agree, it’s plain. So, I’m always thinking of ways to enhance it…I have many more hummus recipes on the way, haha. Adding the jalapeΓ±os helps liven it up too and this so easily can be adjusted to preference.

  3. October 19, 2012 at 8:35 PM #

    It’s like a guacamole hummus hybrid – yum!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  4. Healthy Glow Nutrition
    October 19, 2012 at 9:10 PM #

    I love hummus! This would be amazing spread on toasted bread and piled with other roasted veggies…yummmm

    • October 20, 2012 at 1:26 AM #

      Oh yeah now we’re talking! Ooooh I’m totally doing that..oh I bet this would be great as sauce on pizza too! πŸ™‚

      • Healthy Glow Nutrition
        October 20, 2012 at 4:12 AM #

        For sure! Honestly, I think it is so versatile! Such a great recipe for all those overripe avocados we all have once in a while πŸ™‚

  5. petit4chocolatier
    October 19, 2012 at 11:48 PM #

    I love hummus! Love the healthy green!

  6. October 22, 2012 at 1:03 AM #

    Dear Brandi,very interesting and delicious Hummos.I been making Lebanes Hummos for years ,but this one is new.Jalal

  7. October 22, 2012 at 2:28 PM #

    Mmm such a nutrient-packed dip! Sounds delicious. Am I crazy or did you change your blog layout?!

    • October 22, 2012 at 8:32 PM #

      Thank ou Erika! Yes, on the home page you mean? I changed the layout to see the side by side recent posts in order by newests posts (underneath the “popular dishes”). Thanks for noticing πŸ™‚

  8. October 22, 2012 at 11:07 PM #

    This is so clever, way to reduce the fat and still make something incredibly delicious!

  9. Crista
    October 23, 2012 at 10:53 PM #

    yes, please!

  10. October 28, 2012 at 12:23 AM #

    Just wanted to drop by and let you know how delicious this is, made it a few days ago, love it. It’s so creamy and the cumin and chili powder give it just the right spicy kick. I used lime in mine rather than lemon it was wonderful and will be on rotation whenever I need a great dip. Cut the recipe in half cause its just me, but should have made the whole recipe it;s just that good.

    • October 28, 2012 at 12:44 AM #

      Oh wonderful! Yay, I’m so glad you enjoyed it! You know it’s funny you mentioned lime…that was my first thought, but I only had lemon on hand and didn’t want to run to the store just for that. Knowing it worked for you, I will definitely use it in place of lemon next time! You are the second person today to tell me they ate one of my hummus recipes, lol. It’s a hummus day! Thanks again so much for taking the time to try it πŸ™‚

  11. October 30, 2012 at 11:28 AM #

    This is something I’d definitely like to try once my trainer lets me eat chick peas again- how fantastically easy and such a healthy option to other fatty dips! Loving your blog design and definitely coming back for more cooking ideas. Thank you!

    • November 4, 2012 at 3:45 PM #

      Aww thanks so much Skybunnies! I appreciate your kind comment and I hope you enjoy it, when you do get to eat it πŸ™‚

  12. November 4, 2012 at 2:48 PM #

    Avocado and hummus are my staples, so this sounds heavenly:) Love your blog- your recipes always turn out perfect!

    • November 4, 2012 at 3:46 PM #

      Thank you so much! That’s such a beautiful compliment! I love avocado and hummus too…can’t get enough of them!

  13. poppytump
    December 26, 2012 at 11:19 PM #

    I like the sound of this recipe ! Alot πŸ™‚

  14. February 21, 2013 at 3:44 PM #

    Brilliant! this is now on the top on my MUST Make list! Thank-you for a great recipe!

    • February 22, 2013 at 7:36 AM #

      Wonderful! Thank you so much! I can’t wait to hear what you think of it πŸ™‚

  15. June 11, 2013 at 2:08 PM #

    My husband and I eat hummus everyday as a dip for veggies, sandwich spread, as a potato topping (you get it). Anyway, I’m always looking for new varieties to mix it up a bit. I’ve never made hummus with avocado, but this sounds yummy. Celeste πŸ™‚

    • June 11, 2013 at 5:57 PM #

      Thank you so much Celeste! This is my most popular hummus…you have to try it. Avocado takes place of any oil needed and is super creamy and delicious!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pumpkin Hummus | Can't Stay Out of the Kitchen - October 26, 2012

    […] Avocado Hummus (thehealthyflavor.com) […]

I'd love your feedback!

