It’s a party!! Maple Vanilla Cupcakes

Pin it!

This weekend we celebrated my beautiful little girl’s first birthday party! She tasted cake and icing for the first time and repeatedly said “yum, yum!” It was a lot of fun. Her favorite colors are blue and yellow, so that’s how I chose her color theme. It was a lot of work prepping, baking and making her dress…but in the end, it all turned out. We all had a great time! Enjoy the pics! I made my maple vanilla cupcakes and double chocolate espresso cookies. The maple syrup gives the cupcakes a different depth of sweetness than just all regular sugar, as well as a gorgeous golden color.

Pin It!

Maple vanilla cupcakes with vanilla “butter” cream frosting! I went all out for the kiddos and stuck to tradition for their sake. The cupcakes and icing are both vegan and deliciously sweet! It was for a special occasion though and didn’t want to make something too unusual for the kiddos. They turned out delicious and my Dad thought the icing was so yummy, it “tasted like ice cream!” Ha! For my much healthier icing, click here!

I made so many cupcakes, I have leftovers. Want some? 🙂 I will take some to my brother…he will love me for that!

My daughter, Olivia, and I. It was an aqua blue and sunny yellow fashion bag theme. Here is her first handbag I made for her.

This is her very first party dress that I made for her! It turned out EXACTLY as I envisioned, so I was very happy and relieved since I didn’t have a backup plan! Ha!

Happy girl!

Pin it!

Sea of aqua blue and sunny yellow…perfect for a little girl 🙂

Pin it!

A fun way to present to the birthday girl…I separated her cupcake from the rest. 🙂

Pin it!

These are the little handbags I made for the little girls. I just displayed them in a bright blue basket stuffed with glittery yellow mesh fabric. It adds a fun touch, instead of just laying them on the table.

Pin it!

This is a fun way to also add some excitement to your party table. Instead of just laying the lollipops on the table, I wanted them to stand up and have a presence. So, I bought this styrofoam at Michael’s and some blue glitter paint and spray painted it. I tied little bows on each lollipop and stuck them in the styrofoam. Very inexpensive, but makes a really pretty impact!

One day she will be able to bake and cook with Mommy, I can’t wait!

Recipe:  This makes a large batch of 2 dozen tall cupcakes or 2 1/2 dozen short cupcakes

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups coconut palm sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons fine sea salt
  • 3/4 cup pure maple syrup grade A
  • 3/4 cup grapeseed oil (for a less fat version, you can use half applesauce and half oil)
  • 1 1/2 cups almond milk
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice or apple cider vinegar
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons Madagascar vanilla extract (makes an exceptional vanilla flavor)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line two muffin pans with decorative paper liners.

Sift all the dry ingredients in a large bowl through a mesh strainer and whisk well. I like to use my hands to really mix them well. In a small bowl, add the milk and lemon juice and stir and set aside for 5 minutes. This will create “buttermilk”. In a separate medium bowl, combine the remaining wet ingredients and lightly beat with an electric mixer, until thoroughly mixed. Add the “buttermilk” to the other wet ingredients and stir. Now add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and beat on low, just until combined. Do not over beat! Pour the batter into the lined muffin pans about two-thirds full. Bake for 15-17 minutes until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Let them cool in the pans for 10 minutes, then transfer the cupcakes onto cooling racks to completely cool before icing.

For the icing, I don’t have a recipe, nor did I measure. I literally just threw 4-5 vegan buttery sticks (room temperature) into a large metal bowl. I then added a couple cups of vegan powdered sugar and beat until fluffy and added more until it reached the right consistency. I also added some vanilla extract and a couple tablespoons of almond milk. Beat for several minutes until light and fluffy.

Tip: You can make the icing the day before an event and store in the fridge. Then just re-beat the icing to fluff up again before icing your cupcakes or let it soften to room temperature and pipe out with your favorite piping tip. I personally like to bake my cupcakes the day of an event so they are fresh and fluffy. Although, I must admit, I ate two of them today (day after the party) and they were FABULOUS!! 🙂 Just store them in the fridge.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Chocolate, Gift Ideas, Party Platters, Sweet Treats, VEGAN, VEGETARIAN

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

35 Comments on “It’s a party!! Maple Vanilla Cupcakes”

  1. October 8, 2012 at 7:24 PM #

    Awwww what a cutie, Happy birthday!!!!! I bet she absolutely loved her gorgeous little cupcakes, you are such a cool mum 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  2. October 8, 2012 at 9:07 PM #

    OMG, Brandi! Your daughter is so adorable!!! and I LOVE what you did for her party! OMG! You are amazing! I love the dessert table, the lollipops (I am so doing this!) and everything, wow!

    You make children’s clothes and hand bags?! What? How do you find the time? Do you have an etsy shop?

    • October 8, 2012 at 10:37 PM #

      Thank you so much for all the wonderful compliments Alice!! You are so sweet and brightened my day! 🙂 Honestly, I don’t know how I find the time…I just try to do a little bit here and there each day…each day is pretty chaotic so it never goes smoothly, lol. I make a daily to-do list of what I want to accomplish and that helps a lot.
      Actually, this is the first baby dress I’ve ever made so I just measured Olivia and just drew out a pattern and just winged it, lol. I’ve been sewing for years though making other things. I made all her bedding and nursery stuff and make drapes, pillows, blankets etc. I really enjoyed making her dress though and thought about doing baby clothes on the side but not sure.
      Never heard of Etsy…what’s that?

      • hipfoodiemom
        October 9, 2012 at 3:56 PM #

        OMG, you need to check it out! It’s where people can sell the things they make! http://www.etsy.com/

  3. petit4chocolatier
    October 8, 2012 at 10:57 PM #

    Your daughter is so beautiful and is so lucky to have a wonderful mom! Love the birthday party table. Blue and Yellow- elegant and fun! I love the handbags and the cupcakes look delicious! You do know that you probably could have your own birthday theme business : )

    • October 9, 2012 at 1:56 AM #

      Aww you’re so sweet Judy! Thank you so much for the wonderful compliments!! 🙂 I truly appreciate it!

  4. October 8, 2012 at 11:33 PM #

    How beautiful, LOVE the aqua and yellow and Olivia is a living doll, so beautiful. You are so talented the dress and bag and cupcakes and decorations are all gorgeous!! Happy Birthday to Olivia, she is adorable, everything you made is stunning and those cupcakes, yes I wish I could have one!!!

    • October 9, 2012 at 1:58 AM #

      Wow, thank you SO MUCH! She deserved it all and I had a blast making it all, although a bit crazy and stressful at times, lol! The cupcakes sure were delicious and Olivia thought so too. It was so fun to watch her dig in 🙂

  5. October 9, 2012 at 1:45 PM #

    Brandi! Everything is SO beautiful! The cupcakes, the party, the pictures and especially your little girl! You are SO creative!

  6. October 9, 2012 at 6:17 PM #

    Love this special occasion treat. Looks so good! Happy birthday to Olivia!

    • October 10, 2012 at 5:55 AM #

      Thank you Somer! It was a blast making everything for her! 🙂

  7. October 9, 2012 at 7:28 PM #

    Congrats to your lovely daughter! She is a cuty hey! 1 year old! Yiepie! You made beautiful things for her party! I love it all! 🙂 You should be ry proud mommy! 🙂

    • October 10, 2012 at 5:57 AM #

      Awww thanks Sophie! I am and I really appreciate that! I put in a lot of hard work but the outcome was worth it! 🙂

  8. October 10, 2012 at 5:33 AM #

    Congrats my friend, I have given you The Inspiring Blogger Award 🙂
    Check it out here: http://gobakeyourself.wordpress.com/2012/10/10/quick-easy/

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  9. October 10, 2012 at 8:18 PM #

    Your daughter is so cute, and I love everything about the layout for the birthday party! The cupcakes sound amazing as well…yum!

  10. October 16, 2012 at 8:41 AM #

    Those cupcakes look so gorgeous!

  11. October 19, 2012 at 12:44 PM #

    Happy Birthday to your little girl! My son also turned 1 that weekend. TIme sure does fly. She’s adorable and the party cupcakes, lolli’s, and decorations are beautiful. I love how your daughter is dressed to match. How precious!

    • October 19, 2012 at 6:15 PM #

      Thank you so much for your kind words! I had a blast making her dress and it was her dress that inspired all the other decor! 🙂 Yes, it’s so bittersweet how fast they are growing up, huh? I just want to pause time. Your little boy is darling! By the way, we are both on the virtual vegan potluck! 🙂

      • October 19, 2012 at 7:20 PM #

        That’s awesome. This is my first year doing VeganMoFo and VVP!

  12. October 19, 2012 at 4:05 PM #

    This is so, SO adorable!! I can’t believe you made that dress for your daughter–it’s so cute!!! (So is she!!) And I love the spray painted styrofoam–so clever! What a beautiful spread of yummy looking desserts 🙂 I’m curious–where did you get your cupcake holder and the little cake-stand looking thing that’s holding the cookies?

    • October 19, 2012 at 6:20 PM #

      Thank you so much Erika! You’re so sweet! I’m just relieved her dress fit so well because I didn’t use a pattern, just measured her, lol! The “cupcake holder” I got at Pottery Barn, but it’s actually a candle holder, but it makes a great cupcake stand, huh! It’s made out of iron so it’s really sturdy and nice, I can’t stand those ugly cardboard cupcake holders so I use this instead and it works great. The cookie stands I got at Hobby Lobby 🙂

      • October 19, 2012 at 7:03 PM #

        Oh WOW that is impressive! I must have missed the section where it says you are a sewing goddess…and cool! I thought it looked like a rather unusual cupcake stand 🙂 Good to know you can buy cookie stands at Hobby Lobby–I never thought to look! Thanks 🙂

      • October 19, 2012 at 8:11 PM #

        You are way too kind..no goddess, lol! I just love to sew as much as cooking!! I love challenges! Thank you so much 🙂 Oh, and FYI, they also had pink and white of the stands. 🙂

  13. October 20, 2012 at 6:15 PM #

    How amazingly creative you are! Gorgeous baby, gorgeous ideas!

    • October 21, 2012 at 2:18 AM #

      Thank you so much! That’s so sweet of you! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  14. November 4, 2012 at 12:51 PM #

    Very impressive spread! Happy birthday, Olivia! Aren’t you lucky to have a mommy to make you such wonderful food!

  15. December 18, 2012 at 6:43 AM #

    Awww, what a cutie..she is such a adorable!! hugs and love!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rice 'N' Strawberries - October 9, 2012

    […] FarmPumpkin Spice, Minus the PieAn Overview of the Lemon Cayenne Pepper Maple Syrup Celebrity DietIt’s a party!! Maple Vanilla Cupcakes .wp-pagenavi { font-size:12px !important; } […]

  2. Vanilla-Pumpkin Cupcakes | Beautiful Disasters - October 12, 2012

    […] It’s a party!! Maple Vanilla Cupcakes (thehealthyflavor.com) […]

  3. Hosting An Event…..and lots of treats! | The Healthy Flavor - February 26, 2013

    […] made the maple vanilla cupcakes, 4 ingredient peanut butter cookies, mint chocolate chip cookie bars and also served chocolate […]

I'd love your feedback!

