30 Minute Mexican Chili

Yummy stuff right here…and on the table in 30 minutes. This chili doesn’t need hours simmering, yet it’s loaded with flavor and hearty vegetables to fill you up and warm your body for the cool Fall weather. Although, here in Texas, it’s still hot! That doesn’t matter though to me, warm or cool, this chili satisfies.

Recipe:  Serves 4  Prep time: 10 mins  Cook time:  25 mins

Print recipe

Gluten-free (Make sure all ingredients are labeled to be in a gluten-free facility if you’re gluten sensitive, in case of cross contamination)

Ingredients:

1 15oz can black beans, drained and rinsed

1 15oz can red beans, drained and rinsed

2/3 cup frozen sweet corn (or more if desired)

1/4 cup low sodium tomato sauce

1-2 cups low sodium vegetable broth (adjust as needed)

2-3 tablespoons grapeseed oil (for an oil-free version, just cook the veggies in the broth until desired tenderness)

1 cup chopped red onion

1 green bell pepper chopped

2 garlic cloves minced

1 1/2 tablespoons chili powder

1 tablespoon cumin

1/2 teaspoon ground allspice

1 tablespoon maple syrup

1 1/2 teaspoons fine sea salt

Several grinds fresh black pepper

Tip: For an oil-free version, just cook the veggies in the broth until desired tenderness

Directions:

Add the oil to a large pot and turn the heat to medium low. Add the onions, bell pepper, salt and pepper and stir. Cook for about 8 minutes until tender, stirring occasionally. Add the garlic and the remaining spices and stir. Add just a bit more oil if needed and cook a couple more minutes until the garlic is softened. Add the broth and tomato sauce and bring back to a boil. Once boiling, turn to simmer and cook for about 10-15 minutes or until the chili thickens up some, but not completely evaporated. Drain and rinse the beans and add them and the corn to the chili. Heat through and cook for a few more minutes if you still want it thicker. Serve with sliced avocado or any toppings you like.

Nutrition per cup:  237 calories/ 13g protein/ 2g fat/ 42.5 carbs

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Gluten Free, VEGAN, VEGETARIAN

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

36 Comments on “30 Minute Mexican Chili”

  1. October 1, 2012 at 5:15 PM #

    Like this a lot, I love that it’s quick and easy to make and loaded with goodness.

    • October 1, 2012 at 5:41 PM #

      Thanks so much sweet lady! I can’t wait to make your applesauce cake soon! It’s on my “to do” list! I’ll let you know once I’ve adapted it vegan style! 🙂

  2. October 1, 2012 at 5:31 PM #

    Great recipe.Delicious chili.l like your healthy ideas.Wishing you a wonderful day.jalal

    • October 1, 2012 at 5:42 PM #

      Thank you Jalal! Thank you so much for folllowing my blog too, I appreciate it 🙂

  3. October 1, 2012 at 6:10 PM #

    Brandi, I love this! Looks great! and I love the sliced avocado on top, nice touch! I definitely have chili on the brain. . it’s gettin’ chilly over here! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    • October 1, 2012 at 6:15 PM #

      Thank you Alice! Yes, I use it in place of cheese and it gives a nice creamy effect, similar to cheese! Yum! 🙂

  4. October 1, 2012 at 7:43 PM #

    I love the presentation as well as the flavour my friend 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    P.S. Come check out my international giveaway for my Blogiversary 🙂

  5. October 2, 2012 at 4:08 AM #

    Mmmmm. I love chili so much. It just screams Fall. I’ve never put allspice in chili before. I bet that is good!

  6. October 3, 2012 at 10:08 AM #

    I have bookmarked this recipe to make this week… I love beans… great protein.. mouthwatering recipe thanks for the post 🙂

    • October 4, 2012 at 4:16 PM #

      Thank you so much!! Hope you enjoy it..thanks for your comment 🙂

      • October 6, 2012 at 9:18 AM #

        Hi Brandi, just made this recipe tonight and we loved it. Although I must admit I changed it slightly for a few reasons like I avoid adding oils and sugar to my cooking… Just one question. Is 1 1/2 Tablespoons on chilli powder correct ? It was super hot, but edible, like I said we enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing. If you are interested I post recipes too on my blog.. have a splendid weekend….

      • October 6, 2012 at 11:17 AM #

        Oh I’m so glad you loved it!! Yes, that is correct on the chili powder. I’m
        from Texas and we love a nice kick to our food. 🙂 Everybody who has tried it has loved it and hasn’t found it too hot, but of course I understand we all have different taste buds. I’ll add to the recipe “adjust to desired liking of heat”. Also, it’s such a small amount of sugar but you could certainly use maple syrup if you prefer..chili is complimented so well with a slight hint of sweet, so that’s why I add it. Also, if you want to avoid oil you could just throw the onion and bell pepper to cook after adding the broth. That would work too I’m sure. Thank you so much for trying the recipe! I really appreciate it. And I’m glad y’all enjoyed it, even with it being a bit spicy for you! We looove a good kick, haha! I will definitely check yours out!

      • October 6, 2012 at 11:32 PM #

        I like the maple syrup idea. I will use that next time. I know my mistake. The chili powder I used is a homemade chilli powder from habanero chili. Which is the second hottest chili I have. I grow chilies and like it hot too. You are right there is a difference with peoples tastebuds.. here in Australia people do not like hot food at all. The reason I made your recipe was that it reminded me of a dish I had when I was working in Mexico near San Carlos. I like the flavour very much…. thanks again

      • October 7, 2012 at 8:51 PM #

        Whoa, haha! Well no wonder they were too hot! That is not the standard chili powder here…I would use half that amount I guess next time and hopefully it will be less hot for you. 🙂

  7. Tiffany Cockrell
    October 3, 2012 at 5:59 PM #

    Making this tonight!!!!

  8. October 3, 2012 at 8:53 PM #

    It rocks my taste buds! What is allspice???

    • October 3, 2012 at 9:39 PM #

      Thanks Sophie! It’s a ground spice from the evergreen fruit Pimenta Dioica. It’s like a Jamaican spice (think Jamiacan jerk) or its also used in pumpkin pies. Has a ginger cinnamon flavor which some people mistakenly think that’s what it’s made of.
      It gives the chili a warm sweet “touch”. 🙂

      • October 3, 2012 at 10:00 PM #

        Thanks so much for explaining it so well to me! 🙂 xxx

  9. Crista
    October 5, 2012 at 12:02 PM #

    looks good… chili season has begun :))

    • October 6, 2012 at 11:21 AM #

      Thank you Crista!! Yes, it has and we all devour it around here! 🙂

  10. October 24, 2012 at 6:36 PM #

    Love fast, easy, delicious meals…and it certainly is chili season. Thanks for the inspiration!

    • October 24, 2012 at 10:09 PM #

      Thank you so much! I just ate some for lunch, it’s probably my favorite recipe for fall!! 🙂

  11. Healthy Glow Nutrition
    October 25, 2012 at 3:30 PM #

    My family and I LOVE chill! It is great to make a huge batch as leftovers always taste amazing! I will add meat to mine when I make your recipes or I will hear complaints from the carnivores in my house lol For me though, this is PERFECT as is 🙂

  12. January 25, 2013 at 1:31 AM #

    I’m posting a chili recipe so close to this soon! I made a healthy Cowboy Chili last night and it was amazing- it’s hard to beat chili in the winter:) Have a lovely day!

    • January 26, 2013 at 12:31 AM #

      Thank you! Can’t wait to see yours 🙂

      • February 16, 2013 at 4:43 AM #

        HI Brandi, I made this for a 3rd last weekend… its a great dish 🙂

  13. February 16, 2013 at 4:47 AM #

    Awesome Thom! I’m so glad to hear that :). Thank you!

  14. March 5, 2013 at 12:26 AM #

    Wow Brandi you completely just made me hungry!

  15. April 26, 2013 at 2:31 PM #

    i love quick meals. and the giant carvings of avocado!
    nice recipe 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cod with tomato sauce recipe | Chocolate Spoon & The Camera - October 2, 2012

    […] 30 Minute Mexican Chili (thehealthyflavor.com) […]

  2. “Cheesy” Smoky Black Bean Soup (Oil-Free, Gluten-Free) | The Healthy Flavor - January 16, 2013

    […] how it would taste. I knew I would love it, because it had a lot of similar flavorings as my Mexican Chili. This soup definitely is different though, with the “cheesy” aspect. Pure […]

  3. Guilt-Free Super Bowl Party Food | The Healthy Flavor - February 2, 2013

    […] Mexican Chili […]

  4. “Cheesy” Smoky Black Bean Soup (Oil-Free, Gluten-Free) | The Vegan 8 - May 5, 2013

    […] how it would taste. I knew I would love it, because it had a lot of similar flavorings as my Mexican Chili. This soup definitely is different though, with the “cheesy” aspect. Pure […]

I'd love your feedback!

