Very Berry Blue Smoothie

You haven’t lived until you’ve had this smoothie. It is berry, creamy and fulfilling decadence. Oh, and that creamy part….yeah…that is homemade blueberry whipped cream on top….I landed in blueberry heaven with this smoothie. In fact, it is so indulgent feeling, that I didn’t finish it all at once! It may even be better than my double chocolate coconut whipped cream….maybe.

Topped with my DELICIOUS blueberry whipped cream and extra strawberries and blueberries, makes this feel like an ice cream-ish dessert! However, it couldn’t be more nutritious. Perfect for breakfast!

Recipe:  Serves 1  Prep time: 10 mins

Print recipe

Smoothie ingredients:

1 cup frozen organic strawberries

1/2 cup frozen organic wild blueberries

1/2 cup organic coconut water (not the cream part in the can)

1/4 cup almond milk

1-2 tablespoons pure maple syrup (to desired sweetness-I only used 1 tbsp)

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Blueberry whipped cream:

1/3 cup coconut cream (not the water part of the can)

2 tablespoons thawed or fresh wild blueberries

1 1/2 tablespoons organic vegan powdered sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

couple pinches arrowroot powder

Tip: If you’re going to make the whipped cream as well, store the coconut can in the fridge overnight to thicken up the cream. Follow the directions here on how to remove the “cream” part and whipping the cream. You should get about a 1/3-1/2 cup. I measured a 1/3 cup. Proceed below to the blueberry whipped cream directions.

Nutrition:  191 calories/ 45 carbs/ .875g fat/ 1g protein (rounded to the nearest whole point)

Smoothie directions:

After you’ve scooped out all the cream part from the top of the can (reserve for the whipped cream), add 1/2 cup of the coconut water (it’s okay to have some of the cream in there, just makes it that much better) and the remaining smoothie ingredients to a blender and pulse on high until smooth. If you have a bit of trouble, let the fruit thaw just a few minutes for easier blending or add just a tiny bit more almond milk. Top with blueberry whipped cream if desired. It makes it extra blueberry special!

Blueberry whipped cream directions:

Once you’ve scooped out all the cream from the top of the can, add to a bowl along with the thawed or fresh blueberries. I used frozen and then thawed wild blueberries because they are tiny. Take a fork or masher and mash the blueberries, this releases the juice and color.

Mash those suckers…..mmmmm.

Using an electric handheld mixer, whip for about 5 minutes until thick, then add the sugar, vanilla and arrowroot. Whip again for a few minutes until thick and creamy. To see a step by step process, you can check out my double chocolate coconut whipped cream. However, this blueberry whipped cream will not reach the exact thickness because of the blueberries added. I placed mine in the freezer to firm up for a few minutes and then added to my smoothie, but it’s not necessary. The blueberries weigh the cream down some, so I just wanted mine firmer. Add to the smoothie and top with extra berries! Yum!

Check out my cool 3-D looking photo…the straw is practically jumping out of the photo. Go ahead…try to take a sip. 🙂

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Fun With Fruit, Snacks, Sweet Treats, VEGAN

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

18 Comments on “Very Berry Blue Smoothie”

  1. September 29, 2012 at 7:13 PM #

    Hi Brandi, OMG, I love this!!

  2. September 29, 2012 at 7:27 PM #

    That looks GORGEOUS my friend so pretty and delicious 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  3. September 30, 2012 at 11:51 AM #

    I love this!!

  4. September 30, 2012 at 2:54 PM #

    Love the presentation.. I’m not a fan of coconut water though /: maybe I can find a substitute to try it!

    • September 30, 2012 at 3:59 PM #

      Thank you so much Nicole! Honestly, you can’t taste it, my hubby doesn’t like coconut either and didn’t even know I put it in there, hehe, it gives it that creamy milkshake consistency. With that said, I’m sure you could just sub with all almond milk and it’d still be delish 🙂

  5. September 30, 2012 at 5:18 PM #

    I honestly wish I could just take that out of the screen and drink it without any of the effort. Okay, okay! I have frozen blueberries and a can of coconut sitting in my fridge….. You twisted my arm 😉

    • September 30, 2012 at 6:39 PM #

      Haha you’re too funny girl!! I know…that last pic really makes you want to lean in and take a sip!! Sooooo yummy and refreshing!! Let me know if you make it. I love the combo with the strawberries. 🙂

      • September 30, 2012 at 6:44 PM #

        I don’t have any fresh strawberries, but there may be some frozen ones lurking in the freezer. I’m actually recovering from a bout of food poisoning so it may take me a couple days to get to this, but it is definitely going down in my kitchen soon!

      • September 30, 2012 at 6:47 PM #

        Oh yeah I use frozen anyways 🙂
        I’m so sorry to hear about the food poisoning, oh no!! I sure hope you feel better real soon!!

  6. October 1, 2012 at 11:14 AM #

    that looks amazing, love the handled glass jar!

  7. October 3, 2012 at 8:53 PM #

    A delightful & power berry smoothy & it surely looks very original & very stylish presented too! MMMMMMMMMMM!

    • October 4, 2012 at 5:04 AM #

      Thank you so much sweetheart for the kind compliments!! It truly is so decadent and delicious and healthy…a winning combination! 🙂

  8. petit4chocolatier
    November 4, 2012 at 1:32 AM #

    Brandi, this is so wonderful! I love the 3D photo!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Double Chocolate Coconut Whipped Cream (My Starbucks Version) | The Healthy Flavor - September 29, 2012

    […] into a bowl and once you get to the watery part, stop scooping. (save the extra liquid for this blueberry smoothie or use as the liquid in baking desserts) Depending on your can (they vary) and brand, you may need […]

I'd love your feedback!

