Maple Cashew Icing With Maple Flakes

What if I told you this was a healthy icing that you could enjoy guilt free? What if I told you it contained no butter or shortening and not the traditional sugars? Well, it’s true. This is NOT buttercream icing, but rather a much more nutritional version of icing. It is sweet, creamy and bursting with maple flavor. It does NOT taste like buttercream, so you may or may not be as in love as I am. It is, however, delicious and thick and decorates beautifully.

Don’t get me wrong, I love buttercream icing..but I’m shooting for a different, much healthier icing here..without sacrificing flavor.

Cashews are used a lot in vegan cooking/baking to achieve the creaminess in sauces, pestos, frostings, etc. but I have used a couple of ingredients to make mine a little different than you may have seen. I used maple extract, maple syrup and maple flakes. This gives them a wonderful, no-way-to-doubt-it, maple flavor! I discovered these maple flakes online and they are amazing, sweet and crunchy and come from 100% pure maple syrup. I add them to my oatmeal for breakfast, yum!

I made these as Fall inspired colors too. This icing would also be really great on pancakes or even oatmeal I bet! Mmmmm.

This icing is spread over my extremely vanilla cupcakes. I created this very decadent vanilla cupcake recipe for my daughter’s upcoming 1 year birthday party….which honestly, is better than my non-vegan vanilla cupcakes I made for my baby shower previously!! I will post that recipe in the near future (since I only made one for the photoshoot). But for now, it’s all about the icing and all the ways you can think of how to use it. 🙂

Recipe: Makes 1 cup

Gluten free (Please note for strict gluten free diets-make sure all ingredients are labeled to be in a gluten free facility, in case of cross contamination)

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups raw cashews soaked for 1 hour, drained and rinsed

1/4 cup pure maple syrup

3 tablespoons almond milk

1 tablespoon coconut palm sugar (optional)

1 teaspoon Madagascar vanilla (or 2 tsp regular vanilla)

1/4 teaspoon pure maple extract

Maple flakes for garnish (optional-I ordered mine here)

Directions:

Place the cashews in a strainer and rinse well. Add them to a small bowl covered with warm water and soak for one hour. Drain and rinse well. Add them to a food processor and pulse until they are in small pieces. Scrape the sides, add the rest of the ingredients and pulse until smooth and creamy with no more bits of cashews. It may take a minute or so. Scrape the bowl as necessary. That’s it! Spread over pancakes, cupcakes or oatmeal. Store any extra in the fridge. It will firm up in the fridge some. It’s good for a few days.

Tip: If using to frost cupcakes, store the cashew icing in the fridge first to firm up some and then use a piping tip and bag for an easy application.

Nutrition per 1/4 cup serving: 289 calories/ 18g fat/ 7.5g protein/ 28.6 carbs (all the fat is healthy fat coming from the cashews)

This is the creamy texture you are looking for after pulsing.

Sweet, creamy, delicious…..guilt free!!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Sweet Treats, VEGAN, VEGETARIAN

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

14 Comments on “Maple Cashew Icing With Maple Flakes”

  1. September 27, 2012 at 9:30 PM #

    I love the idea of cashew butter icing. The maple is the perfect way to sweeten. The idea of a healthful indulgent dessert is fantastic.

  2. September 27, 2012 at 9:31 PM #

    OMG! Beautiful!!!! Looks soooo good!

  3. September 27, 2012 at 10:07 PM #

    Oh wow a healthy and such a delicious icing – spooning time!!!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  4. October 2, 2012 at 2:34 PM #

    YUM that frosting looks absolutely delicious!! And I happen to have JUST purchased some raw cashews. I am pinning this to remind myself–so excited to make this sometime soon!

    • October 2, 2012 at 4:51 PM #

      Thank you Erika! It is so creamy and delicious! Very different from buttercream though. I hope you’ll try it and like it too!

  5. October 3, 2012 at 8:51 PM #

    I knew that you were busy creating a new recipe with the lovely creamy cashews & I was right!: Yummy looking & really appetizing too! 🙂

  6. petit4chocolatier
    October 24, 2012 at 11:56 PM #

    Heavenly! Love cashews!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It’s a party!! Maple Vanilla Cupcakes | The Healthy Flavor - October 8, 2012

    […] Maple vanilla cupcakes with vanilla “butter” cream frosting! Nothing healthy about these suckers…I went all out for the kiddos and stuck to tradition for their sake. The cupcakes are vegan and not that unhealthy but the icing…whoa….straight up calories! It was for a special occasion though and didn’t want to make something too unusual for the kiddos. They turned out delicious and my Dad thought the icing was so yummy, it “tasted like ice cream!” Ha! For my much healthier icing, click here! […]

I'd love your feedback!

