Mexican Hummus-Like You’ve Never Had Before!

Pin it!

This is sooooo good. I LOVE Mexican food…especially being from Texas, but being Vegan makes it harder since Mexican food is known for having tons of cheese. Well, I also love hummus, such as my hummus with red pepper. So, I decided to change my original recipe up quite a bit and created this delicious Mexican favored hummus. It turned out even more delicious than I hoped. It’s packed with protein too which is an added bonus!

Pin it!

I topped it with some black beans, super sweet corn and chives and I was eating a Mexican dish! It has the perfect blend of heat from the chili powder, smokiness from the cumin and sweetness from the corn! My husband couldn’t get over how authentic it smelled too.

Its such a festive, colorful dish too….perfect for Fall. Notice the Fall inspired fabric I found?! I couldn’t resist picking it up!

Recipe: Serves 6  Prep time: 10 mins  Cook time: 5 mins

Gluten-free (Make sure all ingredients are labeled to be in a gluten-free facility if you’re gluten sensitive, in case of cross contamination)

Print recipe

Ingredients to make the hummus:

Two 15oz cans garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed well

1/4-1/2 cup roasted red peppers from jar (no liquid) or roast them yourself

1/4 cup +2 tablespoons grapeseed oil (add more if you want it creamier)

juice of 1 lemon or to taste

1 tablespoon cumin

2 teaspoons chili powder

1/4 teaspoon allspice

1/4 teaspoon chipotle chili pepper spice

1 teaspoon sea salt

Several grinds black pepper

Vegetables:

1/2 cup cooked black beans

2/3 cup cooked super sweet corn (I just used frozen)

Toppings: chives, tomatoes, avocado, etc.

Directions:

Pulse the garbanzo beans until smooth in a food processor. Add the remaining hummus ingredients and pulse until well combined and creamy. You will need to pulse for a bit and scrape down the sides a few times. I did not need to add any more oil than called for. Just keep pulsing and it continues to get creamier. Taste and add any more seasoning if desired. I like my hummus thick and dip-like but you could add a little vegetable broth if you want to thin it out some, but this was perfect for me. Next, heat the black beans and corn either in the microwave or stovetop. Place the beans and corn over the hummus and garnish with whatever toppings you like. I love the flavor of the chives with the other ingredients. It was delish!

Tip: For a more intense flavor or for a gathering or party, make this the day before and store in the fridge and reheat everything as necessary. The flavors really intensify overnight!

Ways to eat it: As is, burrito style, in a taco bowl with some greens as a salad, or as a dip with chips!

You might really love:

Hummus With Red Pepper

Categories: Appetizers, Gluten Free, Snacks, VEGAN, VEGETARIAN

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

16 Comments on “Mexican Hummus-Like You’ve Never Had Before!”

  1. September 16, 2012 at 8:45 PM #

    It looks delicious!

  2. September 16, 2012 at 9:21 PM #

    Oh my god, definitely nothing like I have had before – your Mexican hummus is blowing my mind! 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    • September 17, 2012 at 1:09 AM #

      Haha you crack me up Uru!! It really is like no hummus I’ve ever seen out there! Yummy! 🙂

  3. September 18, 2012 at 1:55 AM #

    Wow Brandi that looks Fantastic! Nicely Done, Yum!

  4. September 18, 2012 at 11:31 PM #

    MEXICAN HUMMUS?!!!!! Oh my goodness… I LOVE Mexican and I LOVE hummus. I can’t wait to try this!!!!

    • September 19, 2012 at 1:28 AM #

      Aww thanks so much!! Me too…I ate this entire dish MYSELF, it was so good!! I hope you like it, let me know and thank you so much for following my blog! 🙂

  5. Tiffany Cockrell
    October 2, 2012 at 12:49 AM #

    DELICIOUS!!! Brandi you so rock!! I was so busy tonight that I needed something to prep and I through this together! I will be making it again soon like tw!

    • October 2, 2012 at 4:26 AM #

      Thank you so much Tiffany!! I saw the picture you posted on Facebook of it, looks great! So glad you love it as much as I do 🙂

  6. February 2, 2013 at 1:45 PM #

    Why didn’t I think of this before? Hummus with Mexican spices and flavors, two of my favorite things in one dish! Love this!

    • February 2, 2013 at 2:05 PM #

      Mine too Lisa! This is my favorite hummus! It’s soooo good and smells fantastic…every element makes it perfect…the corn, black beans and chives on top are so needed and take it over the edge from a traditional hummus. You could also use tahini in place of some oil if you like, I bet it’d be fine. I don’t use it here because I didn’t have any but it’s not missing it 🙂

  7. February 21, 2013 at 3:38 PM #

    Yep! I need to make this…Your photos are so nice, you really take beautiful photographs.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Simply Delicious Homemade Hummus | Can't Stay Out of the Kitchen - October 25, 2012

    […] Mexican Hummus-Like You’ve Never Had Before! (thehealthyflavor.com) […]

  2. Guilt-Free Super Bowl Party Food | The Healthy Flavor - February 2, 2013

    […] Mexican Hummus […]

  3. Simply Delicious Homemade Hummus | Can't Stay Out Of The KitchenCan't Stay Out Of The Kitchen - February 25, 2013

    […] Mexican Hummus-Like You’ve Never Had Before! (thehealthyflavor.com) […]

I'd love your feedback!

