Spicy Zucchini Pepper Soup

Without a doubt, my favorite vegetable is zucchini. You’ve probably notced I use it in a lot of my recipes. I love the subtle sweetness and versatility of it. My Stuffed Red Peppers With Zucchini Purée dish inspired this soup. The purée I made for the stuffed peppers was so delicious, I decided to make a spinoff of it into a soup.

My husband raved about it. I toasted some diced zucchini as a topping, oh my God, alongside some garlic Ezekiel bread, and I was in heaven. It was unbelievably filling too! If you are a lover of zucchini…or have an obsession…then you will love this soup. It is rich in flavor and has a nice kick from the jalapeños. Usingbits all amount of red bell pepper gives a stunning pumpkin color to the soup…you wouldn’t even know you’re eating zucchini! It’s smooth, creamy and delicious!

Recipe:  Serves 4 soup bowls Prep time: 20 mins Cook time: 25 mins Click here for a printable version

6 1/2 heaping cups peeled and diced zucchini (1/2 cup separated for garnish)

1/2 cup chopped red bell pepper (or just use roasted red peppers from jar-no liquid)

3 large garlic cloves minced

3 tablespoons olive oil

6 jalapeño slices chopped from jar (use 4 or 5 if you don’t want it spicy)

1 cup vegetable broth

2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice

1 teaspoon cumin

1 1/2 teaspoons fine sea salt

Several grinds fresh black pepper

Ezekiel bread (optional)

Peel and dice the zucchini and reserve 1/2 cup for garnish later. Mince the garlic and chop the bell pepper and jalapenos as well. Add the olive oil to a large pot over medium low heat. Add the zucchini, bell pepper, cumin, salt and pepper. Stir and cook for 5 minutes, stirring often. Add the garlic and cook 10 minutes more, stirring occasionally. Add the jalapeños and vegetable broth and bring to a boil. Once boiling, turn the heat to simmer and cook 5-10 more minutes until most of the liquid has evaporated. Turn off the heat and add the lemon juice. Pour the soup into a blender very carefully, it’s hot! Place a towel over the lid, for added protection, and blend until smooth and creamy. Add a little more broth if you want to thin out the soup.

Garnish: Take the reserved 1/2 cup of diced zucchini, lightly spray with olive oil nonstick spray, sprinkle with salt and broil for a few minutes until they are golden brown. Do not use oil on them or they will not crisp up that way. If you have a mini baker toaster oven, it works great for this. I used mine and it was a breeze….no need to heat up the large oven if you don’t have to! Keep an eye on them so they don’t burn. I also toasted some Ezekiel bread drizzled with olive oil and seasoned with oregano, garlic powder and salt.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: VEGAN, VEGETARIAN

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

24 Comments on “Spicy Zucchini Pepper Soup”

  1. August 24, 2012 at 5:24 AM #

    This is the same kind of soup that my mom makes! It is heavenly! 🙂 Yum!

  2. August 24, 2012 at 6:36 AM #

    It is delicious and SO healthy!! That’s great that your mom makes you zucchini soup, so sweet!

  3. August 26, 2012 at 5:07 PM #

    Hi Brandi, beautiful presentations & color, this looks fantastic!

  4. August 26, 2012 at 5:33 PM #

    Oh thank you so much Christina!! So nice of you. 🙂

  5. September 4, 2012 at 6:04 PM #

    Wow YUM!! I’m sharing this with my sister

    • September 4, 2012 at 6:56 PM #

      Thank you Heather..I hope you both enjoy it! 🙂

    • Jeannine
      September 7, 2012 at 3:22 PM #

      So good! I made the soup yesterday and it is delicious!

      Thanks for sharing your recipe, and thanks for directing me too it, Heath!

      • September 7, 2012 at 7:22 PM #

        I’m so happy to hear that Jeannine! Thank you so much for trying it and leaving feedback, it is much appreciated! 🙂

      • September 9, 2012 at 10:36 PM #

        You got it! I wish I were able to be there when you cooked it up!

  6. September 13, 2012 at 10:06 AM #

    This weekend, ths out is on! Yum!

  7. September 13, 2012 at 10:06 AM #

    Ahhh I meant this soup is on!!

  8. September 29, 2012 at 1:57 AM #

    Looks so delicious. will try this one! thanks for sharing .

    • September 29, 2012 at 4:11 AM #

      Thank you! I hope you enjoy it, please let me know if you try it! I’d love to hear! 🙂

  9. October 13, 2012 at 8:18 AM #

    This looks so good!

  10. petit4chocolatier
    November 11, 2012 at 12:53 PM #

    Brandi, looks superb! I love the diced zucchini on top! I love all your ingredients and could easily find them; but don’t have the Ezekiel bread.That looks so good too!!! The last picture was so yummy!

    • November 11, 2012 at 5:50 PM #

      Thank you Judy! It is a favorite over here!! You could use any bread you want. Ezekiel is just a really healthy grain bread sold in the frozen section. Thank you for the compliment on the photos too 🙂

  11. Anonymous
    November 28, 2012 at 9:44 PM #

    Okay I just made your spice Zucchini Soup and all I can say is I can’t get enough of it. It is so delcicious! I will have to double the recipe next time as it’s definitely not enough for my family..it really is heavenly…

  12. Laida
    November 28, 2012 at 9:46 PM #

    I just made this and it so delicious!! I have to make double next time as I like to prepare my meals for about a week..My family would devour this in one sitting…Thanks for a great recipe!!

    • November 29, 2012 at 10:25 PM #

      Thank you so much Laida for the wonderful feedback!! It means so much to me. Thank you so much for trying the recipe!! Yes, I agree it doesn’t make enough for how quickly it gets devoured, lol!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Stuffed Red Peppers With Zucchini Puree-Vegan | The Healthy Flavor - August 23, 2012

    […] Spicy Zucchini Pepper Soup […]

  2. #SundaySupper #BackToSchool Tots Your Tots Will Love! « The Hand That Rocks The Ladle - August 26, 2012

    […] Spicy Zucchini Pepper Soup (thehealthyflavor.com) […]

  3. Roasted Butternut Squash Soup with a Chipolte Kick « NinaLemon - September 19, 2012

    […] week my sister sent me a link to this Spicy Zucchini Soup, it was super good and it totally got me in the mood for soup.  This week the Fall weather really […]

I'd love your feedback!

