Spiral Pasta With Roasted Red Pepper Sauce

I refuse to use jar spaghetti sauce or even worse, canned! I love home cooked sauces, dips, pestos and soups. You just can’t orchestrate that home cooked flavor without, well….making it homemade.   I wanted to make another dish screaming with flavor that you don’t miss the meat in. So yesterday morning I made the sauce and kept it in the fridge until dinner time. Doing this really lets the flavors marry and bring out more flavor the longer they sit. I like to use fresh herbs in these types of dishes, so basil it was. Served along side brown rice, gluten-free pasta (the sauce really gets trapped wonderfully in the spiral pasta) and homemade garlic breadsticks, and the meal is complete! If you prefer more sauce, use less pasta or serve each plate individually instead of tossing all the pasta with the sauce at once.

The vegetables before going into the oven.

I put the onions in a separate pan. Season the same way as the other vegetables.

This is how the tomatoes should look after roasting…bursting with juice and flavor…yum!

Homemade red pepper sauce. Roasting the veggies brings out incredible flavor.

This should make enough for leftovers, depending on how much pasta you use.

Recipe:   Serves 4-6  Prep time: 20 mins total  Cook time: 40 mins total   

  • 1 10.5 oz carton of organic grape tomatoes or about 2 cups
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 3-4 large garlic cloves
  • 1 red onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme leaves
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon hot pepper paste (I use Amore hot pepper paste)
  • 2 tablespoons nutritional yeast (found in the self serve bins in health food stores-similar flavor as Parmesan cheese)
  • Handful fresh basil leaves, plus extra for garnish
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 8-12 oz of gluten-free brown rice pasta (I used about half of a 16 oz bag)
  • 2 zucchini cut in half moons
  • Whole wheat bread for breadsticks (I use Ezekiel bread)

Tip: The whole bag of pasta will soak up every bit of sauce so use less pasta for more sauce and flavor if you prefer.

Directions:

I suggest making the red pepper sauce in the morning to let it sit in the fridge until dinner time. This will ensure a deeper flavor for the herbs to marry together. To make the sauce, line a cookie sheet with parchment paper. Put the tomatoes, sliced bell pepper and garlic cloves with skin intact (do not peel them!) on the sheet. Season generously with sea salt and pepper. Put the onions in a separate pan so all the vegetables are not overcrowded and season the same way. Roast the tomatoes, garlic and bell pepper for 15 minutes and the onions for 25 minutes. Stir the onions about always during cooking, so they don’t burn. Keep an eye on them.

Once the vegetables are done, throw them with all the pan juices into a food processor (after removing the skins off the garlic cloves) with all of the remaining ingredients listed through to the large handful of fresh basil. Pulse until completely smooth, a few minutes. Taste and add any additional salt or basil, if desired. If making in the morning, store in the fridge until dinner.

At dinner, slice the zucchini into half moons. Heat a large pan over medium heat with about half a cup of water. Add the zucchini and the spices and stir well. Cook until golden brown, stirring often, about 8-10 minutes. Add more water, if needed. While the zucchini is cooking, prepare the pasta. Make sure to season the pasta water well with salt and drizzle some olive oil in there as well, helps the pasta to not stick later.

Breadsticks 

Slice desired bread into breadstick shapes and lightly spray with nonstick spray. Sprinkle with salt, garlic powder and oregano. Bake at 400 degrees for 5-10 mins or until golden brown.

Reheat the red pepper sauce over simmer for a few minutes. Put everything into a large bowl and toss with the sauce. Garnish with fresh basil. Enjoy!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: VEGAN, VEGETARIAN

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

33 Comments on “Spiral Pasta With Roasted Red Pepper Sauce”

  1. Kelly Brown
    July 28, 2012 at 6:11 PM #

    Oh my goodness I am making this tomorrow!! Thank you so much for this recipe! I LOVE pasta and homemade sauce. Yumm!

  2. July 28, 2012 at 6:48 PM #

    Thanks Kelly! I hope you like it…let me know how it turns out! 🙂

  3. August 1, 2012 at 7:25 AM #

    Homemade pasta sauce is one of my favourite things – thanks for this recipe, it looks amazing!

  4. August 1, 2012 at 12:02 PM #

    Thank you Lissa! It was delicious and sooo easy. I hope you’ll try it and let me know how it turns out. You can add any other veggies to it also…this sauce is so versatile! 🙂

  5. patrickshine
    August 1, 2012 at 6:04 PM #

    Oh my Word! You have got to try this recipe! Not only it is so easy to make but it makes your taste buds sing. The red pepper sauce is to die for and very dificult not to gobble it up by itself. I bet it would make a great dip. My husband just raved on this recipe and went back for seconds. Darn, I thought I was going to have enough for two night’s dinner. The zucchini and breadsticks rounded oud the recipe perfectly.

  6. August 3, 2012 at 6:00 PM #

    I’m so glad you both liked it so much!! Yes, it would be a great dip or soup too! I think I will eat it as a soup next time 🙂

  7. August 8, 2012 at 10:39 AM #

    A delightful & well-flavoured pasta dinner! 🙂

  8. August 8, 2012 at 4:13 PM #

    Thank you so much Sophie!! So glad you liked it! 🙂

  9. August 10, 2012 at 12:26 AM #

    Holy Cow! Does this look amazing!! YUM!

  10. August 10, 2012 at 6:06 AM #

    Aww thanks Heather!! I hope you try it! It was super yummy! 🙂

  11. Monica
    August 10, 2012 at 8:10 PM #

    This dish was delicious! As a wife and mom of 3, it’s often a challenge to find recipes that are full of nutrition, good taste and are not too time consuming to prepare. This dish was easy to prepare, flavorful and full of nutritious ingredients. Thanks Brandi, I look forward to trying more of your recipes!

  12. August 10, 2012 at 9:30 PM #

    Thanks so much Monica for the generous comment!! I know you have your hands full lady…so I’m glad you found it easy to make!! 🙂

  13. August 18, 2012 at 10:00 PM #

    This spiral pasta looks like its bursting with delicious flavours 😀
    Yum!
    Also thanks so much for following my blog, I hope you enjoy it!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  14. August 19, 2012 at 12:41 AM #

    Thanks so much! It is very flavorful :)You’re chocolate chip photo definitely has caught my eye! I look forward to visiting your blog and everything looks delish!

  15. August 26, 2012 at 7:05 PM #

    This sauce sounds wonderful! I love the flavors of roasted tomatoes and peppers.

  16. August 26, 2012 at 7:20 PM #

    Thank you Allison!! Me too 🙂

  17. petit4chocolatier
    September 2, 2012 at 11:55 AM #

    This is and looks delish!! I have never cooked with red pepper paste and it sounds interesting; even in chili. I am still going through your recipes and they are all scrumptious!

    Sincerely,
    judy

    • September 2, 2012 at 5:23 PM #

      Awww thanks so much for the compliment Judy!! Red pepper paste is amazing because it gives a nice and different heat than dried spices..it’s delish and a little goes a long way!

  18. September 22, 2012 at 2:35 AM #

    I totally agree with you about jarred or canned pasta sauces! I’d rather make my own too. Thank you for sharing your recipe. And thanks for visiting my blog too!

    • September 23, 2012 at 12:29 AM #

      Thank you Joanie!! 🙂 Yep, homemade is the only way to go!

  19. September 28, 2012 at 6:07 AM #

    Yum this looks so delicious! I had a roasted pepper sauce with spiral pasta at a restaurant overseas about seven years ago. I’ll never forget it! I’ll have to make it again soon – thanks for the inspiration =)

    • September 28, 2012 at 6:49 AM #

      Oh how wonderful! Oh goodness, I hope mine can be as enjoyable as yor experience! Thanks so much and let me know if you do try it! 🙂

  20. October 9, 2012 at 3:44 PM #

    Oh my gosh that looks so profesh but sounds so easy, I almost can’t believe it! I have spiral pasta at home and can’t wait to try this out!

  21. October 13, 2012 at 8:12 AM #

    I love this recipe and your blog! Am following it!

  22. November 1, 2012 at 9:52 AM #

    This looks and sounds beautiful. There were lots of lovely fresh tomatoes at my local market this morning, ready for roasting. I’m going to have to hunt for nutritional yeast. I’ve never cooked with it before, but I’m intrigued! PS. Love that you ‘massage’ your vegetables!

    • November 8, 2012 at 7:51 PM #

      Thank you so much Saskia!! I hope you enjoy it, let me know if you try it! Nutritional yeast has a similar nutty, salty, cheesy flavor like Parmesan cheese. It adds great flavor to everything! Haha, yes, massaging is a must! 🙂

  23. November 7, 2012 at 11:56 PM #

    Looks great! I love pasta!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tried&Tasted Tuesday. An accidental dish… « The Daily Drift - July 31, 2012

    […] Spiral Pasta With Roasted Red Pepper Sauce (thehealthyflavor.com) […]

  2. Rigatoni Primavera – Easy Pasta Dinner | recipe 2 recipe - August 8, 2012

    […] Spiral Pasta With Roasted Red Pepper Sauce (thehealthyflavor.com) […]

  3. Rigatoni Primavera – Easy Pasta Dinner « jittery cook - November 30, 2012

    […] Spiral Pasta With Roasted Red Pepper Sauce (thehealthyflavor.com) […]

I'd love your feedback!

