Easy Spanish Rice

I used to love eating at Mexican restaurants, especially living in Texas. I was addicted to cheese enchiladas and the delicious rice served along side. I’m vegan now so I avoid cheese. I can only imagine the oil and butter used as well to which the rice is cooked in, not to mention, sodium overload! This past weekend I decided to create my own Spanish rice just with my own idea of the flavors they use. It turned out delicious and my husband loves it inside brown rice tortillas with avocado and lettuce. You can add anything else you like as well. Soooo much better than the box meals and sooo much healthier.

Here’s my version. I made a really large batch to last several days so you could modify the recipe in half if you like.

Recipe:   Serves 6  Prep time: 5 mins.  Cook time: 45 mins   Click here for a printable version

2 cups slow cooking brown rice

4 cups water

1/2 cup chopped onion

1 8oz can of low sodium tomato sauce

1 7oz can of green chilis (extra for topping if desired)

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon paprika

1 1/2 teaspoon chili powder

1 1/2 teaspoon cumin

1 1/4 teaspoon sea salt (or more to taste)

1/4 teaspoon ground chipotle chili spice

Few grinds of fresh ground black pepper

Put all the ingredients, except for the rice, into a pot and stir well. Bring to a boil and then add the rice, stir and cover. Simmer for about 40-45 minutes or until the rice is tender and almost all the water has evaporated. Turn the heat off, return the lid and let sit for 5-10 minutes depending on how moist you like your rice. The longer you leave it covered, the less liquid remains and the stickier the rice will be. I like mine to still have some tomato sauce left so about 5 minutes usually gets it just right. Great as a side dish or loaded with veggies and extras inside a tortilla.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: VEGAN, VEGETARIAN

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

I'd love your feedback!

