Grilled Garlic Artichoke With Couscous

I was craving garlic and artichokes this week and decided to whip up this number for dinner. For an added boost of flavor, I decided to grill the artichokes. Throw in some colorful bell peppers and onion and it’s complete. It turned out so delicious, I know I will be making this often now.

I make a lot of quinoa for dinner but I thought couscous would be so fitting here and it was so delicious. I absolutely love couscous for its texture. All the colors together turned out beautifully as well.

Recipe:  Serves 4  Prep time: 15 mins.  Cook time: 20 mins   

Ingredients for couscous:

  • 1 cup couscous
  • 1 cup vegetable broth
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt

Remaining Ingredients:

  • 1 16oz bag of frozen artichoke quarters
  • 1/2 red bell pepper cut in strips
  • 1/2 green bell pepper cut in strips
  • 1/2 cup chopped red onion
  • 2-3 large garlic cloves minced
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil or just saute them in some vegetable broth or water, about 1/4 cup or so
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon hot pepper paste
  • 1/4 cup vegetable broth
  • 3/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • Few grinds of fresh black pepper
  1. Prepare the couscous first. Put 1 cup vegetable broth into a small pot with the couscous spices and bring to a boil. Add the couscous, stir, turn off the heat and cover. Let sit for 5 minutes and then fluff with a fork.
  2. Next, chop up all the vegetables and thaw the artichokes in a microwave if they are still frozen. You will need two pans, a large sauté pan and a grill pan. You will cook them both at the same time with the vegetables in the sauté pan and the artichokes in the grill pan.
  3. Add 2 tablespoons of the olive oil (or 1/4 cup water) in the sauté pan and turn to medium heat. Add all the vegetables and spices, except the garlic, and stir. Cook the vegetables for about 5 minutes and then add the garlic. Make sure to stir often so they don’t burn. Add more water if needed. Cook until all the vegetables are tender, just a couple more minutes. Add the vegetable broth, lemon juice and hot pepper paste. Bring back to a boil and cook for another minute or two until the sauce thickens, stirring frequently.
  4. While the vegetables are cooking, heat up the grill pan over medium high with 1 tablespoon of the olive oil (or 2 tbsp water) and add the artichokes. Season with salt and pepper. Stir occasionally cooking the artichokes on each side until golden brown. Now add the artichokes to the vegetable mixture and stir.
  5. Combine all the vegetables with the couscous in a large serving bowl and mix until well combined. Serve and enjoy!
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: VEGAN, VEGETARIAN

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

9 Comments on “Grilled Garlic Artichoke With Couscous”

  1. July 23, 2012 at 3:38 AM #

    Mmmmm… what’s not to like about this? Sounds wonderful. Love that you didn’t skimp on the veggies.

  2. July 23, 2012 at 4:49 AM #

    Thank you so much Jenny and for visiting! I hope you’ll try it or any of my recipes and enjoy them! 🙂

  3. August 3, 2012 at 2:49 PM #

    Oh my gosh! YUM!! And look how beautiful!

    PlantBasedDietAdventures.com

  4. August 3, 2012 at 3:38 PM #

    Thank you! It was delicious and yes, the colors really make it a beautiful dish. I always try to select my ingredients that will look beautiful on a plate, as well as taste great, since we eat with our eyes first! 🙂

  5. August 20, 2012 at 5:38 AM #

    Oh that looks sensational! I am just at the beginning of my relationship with artichoke but so far it’s going really well and I can’t wait to try this. 🙂

  6. August 20, 2012 at 5:59 AM #

    Thank you Vegan Sparkles (I love your blog name btw!)! I hope you like it! I am in love with artichokes and grilling gives them the best flavor!! 🙂

  7. September 12, 2012 at 3:41 AM #

    I love all things artichoke…steamed artichokes, grilled artichokes, marinated artichoke hearts…in fact, I don’t think there’s a single way I don’t like them! I’m always looking to find a few Vegan recipes that really knock it out of the park, so I’ll definitely have to give this a try.

    • September 12, 2012 at 6:07 AM #

      Thank you so much!! I agree…I could live off artichokes…delicious…I grew up eating them so they’ve always been a favorite of mine! Hope you enjoy it 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Baby Artichoke and Mushroom on Kaniwa – aka “Baby Quinoa” « jittery cook - September 7, 2012

    […] Grilled Garlic Artichoke With Couscous-Vegan (thehealthyflavor.com) […]

I'd love your feedback!

