Chickpea, Sweet Potato and Kale Soup (Gluten-free, Oil-free)

We still have a few cool days lingering, so this is my last soup recipe I’ll be sharing for the season. I absolutely love ginger and had some I needed to use up. I was craving soup this past weekend, so I decided to make a soup infused with ginger and vegetables I already had stocked in my fridge. Let me tell you…this might just be one of the best soups I’ve ever had. It’s not a thick, creamy type of soup. It is a hearty soup with an intense broth flavor. The broth is everything, so use a high quality, strong broth. It’s the kind of broth that warms your whole body.

It’s so good, I just wanted to drink it. I’m totally serious. It’s full of a strong ginger flavor, aromatic garlic and a spicy kick.

I kept it very simple…not too many spices or ingredients, yet the flavor is incredible. Adding chickpeas, sweet potatoes and kale make it filling, hearty and incredibly healthy.

Recipe: Makes 3 quarts (12 cups)  Prep time: 10 mins Cook time: 40 mins

Gluten-free

Ingredients:

4 1/2 cups vegetable broth (I recommend Kitchen Basics, it is a strong dark broth that isn’t watered down. A quality rich broth is needed here)

2 15 oz cans organic chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1 cup chopped white onion

4 extra large garlic cloves, minced (two tablespoons minced garlic)

1 inch cube fresh ginger, minced (don’t skimp on this!)

2 medium sweet potatoes, cut into 1 inch cubes (about 5 cups)

1/2 cup nutritional yeast

4 heaping cups fresh kale

1/4 teaspoon chili powder

2 teaspoons fine pink Himalayan salt (the broth I used has no sodium in it, so you may need less salt, start out with 1 1/2 teaspoons)

1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

Directions:

Prepare the sweet potatoes, onion, ginger and garlic. In a large pot, add the broth, onion, ginger, garlic, sweet potatoes, salt and pepper. Stir well and bring to a boil. Once boiling, cover with a lid and turn to simmer for 25-30 minutes until the sweet potatoes are fork tender. Add the beans (drained & rinsed), kale, coconut milk and nutritional yeast. Return the lid and simmer an additional 10 minutes. Taste and add any more salt, if desired. Enjoy!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Gluten Free, VEGAN, VEGETARIAN

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

41 Comments on “Chickpea, Sweet Potato and Kale Soup (Gluten-free, Oil-free)”

  1. Anonymous
    March 25, 2013 at 6:50 PM #

    Since its snowing here in TN today and tomorrow I am going to make this soup tomorrow for dinner! Yummy

    • March 25, 2013 at 6:53 PM #

      Great! Let me know what you think! Make sure to get a good, rich dark broth…it makes a difference…the ginger and garlic really enhance it! :)

  2. March 25, 2013 at 7:10 PM #

    This soup looks amazing! I have nearly everything on this list except for nutritional yeast. I’ve never worked with that before. Is it hard to find?? Great recipe and perfect for this neverending winter! :-)

    • March 25, 2013 at 7:43 PM #

      Thank you! I find it at my local grocery store in the health food section. The flavor is wonderful. It’s pretty common nowadays but it definitely is at whole foods and also online. :)

  3. March 25, 2013 at 7:15 PM #

    Heathy and very delicious :)

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  4. March 25, 2013 at 9:56 PM #

    Now I’m craving soup!

  5. March 26, 2013 at 2:37 AM #

    I love that you’ve combined chickepeas, kale and sweet potatoes all in a soup that really does look so hearty and heartwarming. Yum!

  6. Healthy Glow Nutrition
    March 26, 2013 at 2:53 AM #

    Looks incredibly comforting and delicious Brandi :)

  7. March 26, 2013 at 4:16 AM #

    This looks gorgeous Brandi. I really love a good coconut milk/ginger combo. Love your photography too – the earthy soup looks fab on the hessian cloth. We’re in the middle of another heat wave. Can’t wait for the cooler weather and soup for dinner.

    • March 28, 2013 at 5:44 AM #

      Thank you so much Saskia! The coconut isn’t even detectable, just makes it slightly creamier. Super delicious!

  8. March 26, 2013 at 9:42 AM #

    cant get kale and I would love to make this.. as always very delicious looking :)

  9. March 26, 2013 at 11:20 AM #

    Wonderful soup! Soups of my country(Portugal) are so strong like this!

  10. March 26, 2013 at 7:10 PM #

    Oh man, that sounds so comforting right now! Loving the sound of that broth!

  11. March 26, 2013 at 8:32 PM #

    Love the colours in that bowl. Oh my gosh!

  12. March 27, 2013 at 12:55 AM #

    I have been remiss, I totally missed this post and it looks wonderful. Your photo’s are fantastic btw!!! Perfect warmer upper on a chilly day!

    • March 28, 2013 at 5:47 AM #

      Thank you so much Suzanne! I sure hope you are feeling better now. :)

  13. March 28, 2013 at 10:19 AM #

    Brandi, this soup is amazing! I love the adding of fresh ginger. It warms up our heart :-)

  14. March 28, 2013 at 10:20 AM #

    And I totally love this set of photos. Very very well taken in all aspect.

  15. March 29, 2013 at 1:00 PM #

    Looks awesome!! Thank you Brandi.
    All the best.
    Shane

  16. March 29, 2013 at 9:32 PM #

    I am loving warmer weather, but I will miss chilly nights with soup! I didn’t have nearly enough this winter. This recipe is fabulous!

  17. March 30, 2013 at 1:10 AM #

    Looks delightful, Brandi, and I am not even a fan of kale — I think you may have just turned me around ;) Looks absolutely savory and love the addition of the sweet potatoes. Great job, lovely, and thanks as always for sharing =)

  18. March 31, 2013 at 8:32 PM #

    Love this recipe, I have nearly a similar one but kale, we don’t have it in here.

  19. April 3, 2013 at 4:46 PM #

    Brandi, this is my kind of soup! I love kale, sweet potatoes and chickpeas so needless to say, I’d gobble this up in no time. Leave it to you to make such a nutritious, flavour packed bowl of comfort. The more ginger and garlic the better…yum!

  20. Anonymous
    April 4, 2013 at 4:36 PM #

    for the coconut milk, is that the one that comes in a can?

    • April 4, 2013 at 6:33 PM #

      Yes I used the top cream part, about 1/4 cup from the can. But you totally can omit that part if you want. No biggie at all…will be less fat that way. :) Also, make sure you use a strong dark broth like kitchen basics….they sell it at Krogers and also Walmart. I used the no sodium one. The cheaper watery broths will affect the soup.

  21. Elilta B.
    June 25, 2013 at 11:41 PM #

    I have made this so many times now….that’s what’s for dinner tonight… Nothing heavy…. Love it!

I'd love your feedback!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

